Compare
Adyen vs Rapyd
Only Adyen · 2
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Adyen
AvailableRapyd
AvailableAccept payments
Adyen
Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person.Rapyd
Online card acquiring and local payment methods (cards, wallets, bank transfers, stablecoins, cash vouchers) through an API, hosted checkout, payment links and plugins, with subscriptions. Rapyd says customers can pay from 190+ markets in 150+ currencies.Pay people abroad
Adyen
Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms.Rapyd
Rapyd Disburse sends single and mass payouts by bank transfer, real-time payment networks, card payouts (Visa Direct, Mastercard Send), stablecoins and third-party wallets. Rapyd states 190+ countries and 120+ currencies.Multi-currency account
Adyen
Business accounts for platform users in selected markets.Rapyd
Every Rapyd client gets a Rapyd Wallet: a multi-currency balance with fiat and stablecoin support, sub-accounts, and virtual account numbers (vIBANs and local formats) for receiving transfers. Rapyd also documents a separate Rapyd Business Account for Hong Kong businesses (HKD, USD, EUR and GBP balances; HK, UK and Europe receiving accounts).Business cards
Adyen
Card issuing for platforms and businesses.Rapyd
Rapyd Issuing creates pre-funded physical and virtual cards drawn on a Rapyd Wallet, with spending limits and merchant restrictions. Issuing is offered in specific countries only, confirmed with sales; Rapyd cites 10+ markets.Stablecoins
Adyen
Not offeredRapyd
Since 9 September 2025, businesses can accept stablecoin payments (converted to fiat), settle in stablecoins or fiat, and pay out in stablecoins. Rapyd says this runs through regulated third-party partners and that it does not itself issue, custody or directly process crypto assets. Supported coins are not named.Yield on idle cash
Adyen
Not offeredRapyd
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Adyen
No yield offeredRapyd
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Adyen
–Rapyd
–Does the rate change?
Adyen
–Rapyd
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Adyen
Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees.Rapyd
Not yet researchedPublished prices
Adyen
Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly feesRapyd
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Adyen
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedCrypto
Adyen
RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services.Rapyd
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
Adyen
RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedGambling
Adyen
RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedAdult content
Adyen
RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms.Rapyd
Not yet researchedDating
Adyen
RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
Adyen
Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
Adyen
RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Rapyd
Not yet researchedSupplements
Adyen
RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms).Rapyd
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
Adyen
RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedTravel
Adyen
RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Rapyd
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
Adyen
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
Adyen
Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed.Rapyd
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Adyen
YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC.Rapyd
YesPartners create merchant organisations and submit KYB applications, including sub-merchant applications, through the partner onboarding API. Merchants who use Rapyd through a marketplace complete Rapyd's own KYB through a hosted page.Split payments and platform fees
Adyen
YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission.Rapyd
YesThe marketplace solution splits payments by predefined rules; the seller's share lands in a sub-account.Embeddable UI
Adyen
YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users.Rapyd
PartlyRapyd offers hosted pages (identity verification, virtual card display, hosted checkout) and markets white-label checkout and payouts. Embeddable onboarding components were not found.Pay out to your users
Adyen
YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts.Rapyd
YesDisburse supports B2B, B2C and C2C payouts to bank accounts, cards, RTP networks, wallets and stablecoins.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Adyen
PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development.Rapyd
YesPlatforms issue wallets to consumers and businesses; each wallet can have several virtual account numbers.Cards for your users
Adyen
YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US.Rapyd
YesCards are funded by a Rapyd Wallet and linked to a wallet contact; issuing countries are confirmed with sales.Financing for your users
Adyen
YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US.Rapyd
Not confirmedNo lending product found. The Wallet FAQ says the infrastructure enables 'fintech capabilities like lending', but no lending product or terms were found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Adyen
NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers.Rapyd
YesWallets of type 'person' are for individual consumers, and Rapyd offers a hosted KYC page for wallet contacts.Consumer wallets or accounts
Adyen
NoBusiness accounts only.Rapyd
YesPlatforms can create personal wallets for their customers.Consumer cards
Adyen
NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers.Rapyd
YesRapyd's docs describe Issuing as issuing cards to consumers and businesses. Issuing countries are confirmed with sales.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
YesAccept stablecoin payments and convert to fiat, or settle in stablecoin (since 9 Sep 2025, through third-party partners).Hold stablecoin balances
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
YesRapyd says the Wallet natively supports stablecoins and that businesses can settle in stablecoins. Rapyd itself does not custody crypto; partners provide this.Pay out in stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
YesStablecoin payouts are listed as a Disburse rail.Issue your own stablecoin
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
NoRapyd states it does not itself issue crypto assets; no branded-stablecoin product was found.Regulatory risk in United States
Adyen
No stablecoin productsRapyd
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Adyen
Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (Rapyd docs navigation and a web search, Oct 2026).Checkout for AI agents
Adyen
YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Cards for AI agents
Adyen
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Adyen
PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Adyen
PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Adyen
YesPublic API and test environment.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.In short
Countries onboarded
Adyen
43 of 170Rapyd
62 of 170Designed for
Adyen
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions.Rapyd
Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API.Limitations
Adyen
Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.Rapyd
Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published.| Adyen Payment processor | Rapyd Payment processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person. | Online card acquiring and local payment methods (cards, wallets, bank transfers, stablecoins, cash vouchers) through an API, hosted checkout, payment links and plugins, with subscriptions. Rapyd says customers can pay from 190+ markets in 150+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms. | Rapyd Disburse sends single and mass payouts by bank transfer, real-time payment networks, card payouts (Visa Direct, Mastercard Send), stablecoins and third-party wallets. Rapyd states 190+ countries and 120+ currencies. |
| Multi-currency account | Business accounts for platform users in selected markets. | Every Rapyd client gets a Rapyd Wallet: a multi-currency balance with fiat and stablecoin support, sub-accounts, and virtual account numbers (vIBANs and local formats) for receiving transfers. Rapyd also documents a separate Rapyd Business Account for Hong Kong businesses (HKD, USD, EUR and GBP balances; HK, UK and Europe receiving accounts). |
| Business cards | Card issuing for platforms and businesses. | Rapyd Issuing creates pre-funded physical and virtual cards drawn on a Rapyd Wallet, with spending limits and merchant restrictions. Issuing is offered in specific countries only, confirmed with sales; Rapyd cites 10+ markets. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Since 9 September 2025, businesses can accept stablecoin payments (converted to fiat), settle in stablecoins or fiat, and pay out in stablecoins. Rapyd says this runs through regulated third-party partners and that it does not itself issue, custody or directly process crypto assets. Supported coins are not named. |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly fees | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms). | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed. | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC. | YesPartners create merchant organisations and submit KYB applications, including sub-merchant applications, through the partner onboarding API. Merchants who use Rapyd through a marketplace complete Rapyd's own KYB through a hosted page. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission. | YesThe marketplace solution splits payments by predefined rules; the seller's share lands in a sub-account. |
| Embeddable UI | YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users. | PartlyRapyd offers hosted pages (identity verification, virtual card display, hosted checkout) and markets white-label checkout and payouts. Embeddable onboarding components were not found. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts. | YesDisburse supports B2B, B2C and C2C payouts to bank accounts, cards, RTP networks, wallets and stablecoins. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development. | YesPlatforms issue wallets to consumers and businesses; each wallet can have several virtual account numbers. |
| Cards for your users | YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US. | YesCards are funded by a Rapyd Wallet and linked to a wallet contact; issuing countries are confirmed with sales. |
| Financing for your users | YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US. | Not confirmedNo lending product found. The Wallet FAQ says the infrastructure enables 'fintech capabilities like lending', but no lending product or terms were found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers. | YesWallets of type 'person' are for individual consumers, and Rapyd offers a hosted KYC page for wallet contacts. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBusiness accounts only. | YesPlatforms can create personal wallets for their customers. |
| Consumer cards | NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers. | YesRapyd's docs describe Issuing as issuing cards to consumers and businesses. Issuing countries are confirmed with sales. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesAccept stablecoin payments and convert to fiat, or settle in stablecoin (since 9 Sep 2025, through third-party partners). |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesRapyd says the Wallet natively supports stablecoins and that businesses can settle in stablecoins. Rapyd itself does not custody crypto; partners provide this. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesStablecoin payouts are listed as a Disburse rail. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | NoRapyd states it does not itself issue crypto assets; no branded-stablecoin product was found. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (Rapyd docs navigation and a web search, Oct 2026). |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and test environment. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 43 of 170 | 62 of 170 |
| Designed for | High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. | Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses. | Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published. |
Common questions
Is Adyen or Rapyd available in more countries?
Rapyd. Of the 170 countries we track, Adyen onboards businesses in 43 and Rapyd in 62. Both serve businesses in 41. Only Adyen: Canada and United Arab Emirates. Only Rapyd: Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, Israel, Turkey, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, Philippines and 9 more.
What do Adyen and Rapyd offer?
Accept payments: Adyen yes, Rapyd yes. Pay people abroad: Adyen yes, Rapyd yes. Multi-currency account: Adyen yes, Rapyd yes. Business cards: Adyen yes, Rapyd yes. Stablecoins: Adyen no, Rapyd yes. Yield on idle cash: Adyen no, Rapyd no.
How do Adyen and Rapyd differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Embeddable UI: Adyen yes, Rapyd partly. Accounts that hold money: Adyen partly, Rapyd yes. Financing for your users: Adyen yes, Rapyd not confirmed. End users can be individuals: Adyen no, Rapyd yes. Consumer wallets or accounts: Adyen no, Rapyd yes. Consumer cards: Adyen no, Rapyd yes. Accept stablecoins: Adyen no, Rapyd yes. Hold stablecoin balances: Adyen no, Rapyd yes. Pay out in stablecoins: Adyen no, Rapyd yes. Checkout for AI agents: Adyen yes, Rapyd not confirmed.
Who is Adyen designed for?
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.
Who is Rapyd designed for?
Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API. Limitations: Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published.
Related comparisons