Compare
Adyen vs PayPal
Only PayPal · 50
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Adyen
AvailablePayPal
AvailableAccept payments
Adyen
Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person.PayPal
PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection.Pay people abroad
Adyen
Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms.PayPal
Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet.Multi-currency account
Adyen
Business accounts for platform users in selected markets.PayPal
Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account.Business cards
Adyen
Card issuing for platforms and businesses.PayPal
PayPal Business Debit Mastercard.Stablecoins
Adyen
Not offeredPayPal
US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Yield on idle cash
Adyen
Not offeredPayPal
US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York.Yield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Adyen
No yield offeredPayPal
Moderate riskStablecoin rewardsIs the money protected?
Adyen
–PayPal
Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly.Does the rate change?
Adyen
–PayPal
Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026)Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Adyen
Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees.PayPal
PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12.Published prices
Adyen
Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly feesPayPal
PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkoutWhat you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Adyen
Not statedPayPal
Not statedCrypto
Adyen
RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services.PayPal
RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval.Lending and financial services
Adyen
RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited.PayPal
RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited.Gambling
Adyen
RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited.PayPal
RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal.Adult content
Adyen
RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms.PayPal
RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited.Dating
Adyen
RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited.PayPal
RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval.Firearms and weapons
Adyen
Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited.PayPal
Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited.Cannabis and CBD
Adyen
RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.PayPal
Not statedSupplements
Adyen
RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms).PayPal
Not statedPharmacy and telemedicine
Adyen
RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited.PayPal
RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval.Travel
Adyen
RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.PayPal
RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned.Multi-level marketing
Adyen
Not statedPayPal
RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited.Free-trial subscriptions
Adyen
Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed.PayPal
Not statedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Adyen
YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC.PayPal
YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses.Split payments and platform fees
Adyen
YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission.PayPal
YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow.Embeddable UI
Adyen
YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users.PayPal
PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow.Pay out to your users
Adyen
YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts.PayPal
YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Adyen
PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development.PayPal
NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users.Cards for your users
Adyen
YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US.PayPal
NoNo card issuing for platform users.Financing for your users
Adyen
YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US.PayPal
NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Adyen
NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers.PayPal
PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users.Consumer wallets or accounts
Adyen
NoBusiness accounts only.PayPal
NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet.Consumer cards
Adyen
NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers.PayPal
NoNot offered to platforms.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.PayPal
PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars.Hold stablecoin balances
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.PayPal
PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Pay out in stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.PayPal
Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts.Issue your own stablecoin
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.PayPal
NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one.Regulatory risk in United States
Adyen
No stablecoin productsPayPal
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Adyen
Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones.PayPal
YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts.Checkout for AI agents
Adyen
YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol.PayPal
YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration.Cards for AI agents
Adyen
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.PayPal
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Adyen
PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team.PayPal
YesSign up online.Published pricing
Adyen
PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated.PayPal
YesMerchant fees are published by country.Public API and sandbox
Adyen
YesPublic API and test environment.PayPal
YesPublic REST API and sandbox.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
Adyen
Nothing announcedPayPal
In short
Countries onboarded
Adyen
43 of 170PayPal
91 of 170Designed for
Adyen
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions.PayPal
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers.Limitations
Adyen
Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.PayPal
PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.| Adyen Payment processor | PayPal Payment processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person. | PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection. |
| Pay people abroad | Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms. | Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet. |
| Multi-currency account | Business accounts for platform users in selected markets. | Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account. |
| Business cards | Card issuing for platforms and businesses. | PayPal Business Debit Mastercard. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York. |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | Moderate riskStablecoin rewards |
| Is the money protected? | – | Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly. |
| Does the rate change? | – | Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026) |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees. | PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12. |
| Published prices | Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly fees | PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkout |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not stated |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services. | RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval. |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited. | RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited. |
| Gambling | RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited. | RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal. |
| Adult content | RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. | RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited. |
| Dating | RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited. | RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval. |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited. | Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited. |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not stated |
| Supplements | RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms). | Not stated |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited. | RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval. |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned. |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited. |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed. | Not stated |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC. | YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission. | YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow. |
| Embeddable UI | YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users. | PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts. | YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development. | NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users. |
| Cards for your users | YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US. | NoNo card issuing for platform users. |
| Financing for your users | YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US. | NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers. | PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBusiness accounts only. | NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet. |
| Consumer cards | NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers. | NoNot offered to platforms. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones. | YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol. | YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team. | YesSign up online. |
| Published pricing | PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated. | YesMerchant fees are published by country. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and test environment. | YesPublic REST API and sandbox. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Nothing announced | Awaiting approvalPayPal Bank in the USNo date given · Includes United States Details and sources → |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 43 of 170 | 91 of 170 |
| Designed for | High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. | Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses. | PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales. |
Common questions
Is Adyen or PayPal available in more countries?
PayPal. Of the 170 countries we track, Adyen onboards businesses in 43 and PayPal in 91 (and 2 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 43. Only PayPal: Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, Saudi Arabia, Israel, Egypt, Kenya, South Africa, Morocco, China, South Korea and 38 more.
What do Adyen and PayPal offer?
Accept payments: Adyen yes, PayPal yes. Pay people abroad: Adyen yes, PayPal yes. Multi-currency account: Adyen yes, PayPal yes. Business cards: Adyen yes, PayPal yes. Stablecoins: Adyen no, PayPal yes. Yield on idle cash: Adyen no, PayPal yes.
How do Adyen and PayPal differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Embeddable UI: Adyen yes, PayPal partly. Accounts that hold money: Adyen partly, PayPal no. Cards for your users: Adyen yes, PayPal no. Financing for your users: Adyen yes, PayPal no. End users can be individuals: Adyen no, PayPal partly. Accept stablecoins: Adyen no, PayPal partly. Hold stablecoin balances: Adyen no, PayPal partly. Pay out in stablecoins: Adyen no, PayPal not confirmed. Official MCP server: Adyen not confirmed, PayPal yes.
Who is Adyen designed for?
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.
Who is PayPal designed for?
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. Limitations: PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.
Related comparisons