Compare
Adyen vs Worldpay
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Adyen
AvailableWorldpay
AvailableAccept payments
Adyen
Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person.Worldpay
Enterprise acquiring online and in store, processing in 140+ countries.Pay people abroad
Adyen
Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms.Worldpay
Global payouts to bank accounts, cards and wallets.Multi-currency account
Adyen
Business accounts for platform users in selected markets.Worldpay
Not offeredBusiness cards
Adyen
Card issuing for platforms and businesses.Worldpay
Not offeredStablecoins
Adyen
Not offeredWorldpay
Stablecoin payouts and settlement through crypto infrastructure partners.Yield on idle cash
Adyen
Not offeredWorldpay
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Adyen
No yield offeredWorldpay
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Adyen
–Worldpay
–Does the rate change?
Adyen
–Worldpay
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Adyen
Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees.Worldpay
Worldpay's UK pricing page is an indicative quote tool: card percentages only appear after you enter turnover, transaction value and industry. The fixed charges it shows by default are a 4.5p authorisation fee, a £20 chargeback fee, £5 PCI DSS fee, £15 minimum monthly service charge and £20 per terminal per month.Published prices
Adyen
Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly feesWorldpay
Card transaction rates (UK): Not published as fixed rates: an indicative quote is calculated from annual card turnover, average transaction value and merchant categoryAuthorisation fee (UK): 4.5p per transaction (indicative)Chargeback fee (UK): £20.00 (indicative)Monthly charges (UK): PCI DSS service fee £5.00; minimum monthly service charge £15.00; point-of-sale terminal £20.00 per terminal per month; gateway included (indicative)What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Adyen
Not statedWorldpay
Not statedCrypto
Adyen
RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services.Worldpay
Restricted'Virtual Currency (using a card to fund a VC account - pending sponsor bank)' is a high-risk category needing enhanced review. The 'pending sponsor bank' wording suggests it may not be supported yet. Confidence lowered to low.Lending and financial services
Adyen
RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited.Worldpay
RestrictedMoney service businesses, credit repair, consumer financing, FX trading, investment firms and digital wallet/prepaid companies are high-risk categories needing enhanced review.Gambling
Adyen
RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited.Worldpay
RestrictedGambling and gaming, including sports forecasting, odds making and DFS, plus sweepstakes, are high-risk categories needing enhanced review.Adult content
Adyen
RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms.Worldpay
RestrictedAdult entertainment, adult clubs and sexual aids/toys are high-risk categories needing enhanced review.Dating
Adyen
RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited.Worldpay
RestrictedDating services are a high-risk category needing enhanced review.Firearms and weapons
Adyen
Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited.Worldpay
RestrictedCard-not-present firearms sales are a high-risk category needing enhanced review.Cannabis and CBD
Adyen
RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Worldpay
Not statedSupplements
Adyen
RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms).Worldpay
Restricted'Nutraceauticals Card Not Present' (sic) is on the high-risk list. Card-not-present nutraceutical sales need enhanced review through Worldpay sales. Card-present sales are not listed.Pharmacy and telemedicine
Adyen
RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited.Worldpay
RestrictedCard-not-present pharmaceutical sales and script dispensing terminals are high-risk categories needing enhanced review.Travel
Adyen
RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Worldpay
Not statedMulti-level marketing
Adyen
Not statedWorldpay
RestrictedMulti-level marketing is a high-risk category needing enhanced review.Free-trial subscriptions
Adyen
Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed.Worldpay
RestrictedNegative option subscription enrollment is a high-risk category needing enhanced review.Platform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Adyen
YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC.Worldpay
YesWorldpay for Platforms (formerly Payrix): white-label APIs to sign up and underwrite sub-merchants, as a referral partner, PayFac-as-a-Service or full PayFac.Split payments and platform fees
Adyen
YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission.Worldpay
YesSplit one transaction across several parties.Embeddable UI
Adyen
YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users.Worldpay
YesWhite-label onboarding, payment forms and payout dashboards.Pay out to your users
Adyen
YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts.Worldpay
YesAPI-driven funding to pay out sub-merchants.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Adyen
PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development.Worldpay
NoNot found in public materials.Cards for your users
Adyen
YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US.Worldpay
NoNot found in public materials.Financing for your users
Adyen
YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US.Worldpay
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Adyen
NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers.Worldpay
NoSub-merchants are businesses.Consumer wallets or accounts
Adyen
NoBusiness accounts only.Worldpay
NoNot offered.Consumer cards
Adyen
NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers.Worldpay
NoNot offered.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Worldpay
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Hold stablecoin balances
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Worldpay
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Pay out in stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Worldpay
PartlyStablecoin payouts through crypto infrastructure partners.Issue your own stablecoin
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Worldpay
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Regulatory risk in United States
Adyen
No stablecoin productsWorldpay
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Adyen
Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones.Worldpay
YesFree MCP server on GitHub since November 2025, for building agents on Worldpay’s APIs.Checkout for AI agents
Adyen
YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol.Worldpay
PartlyAgentic Commerce Protocol support for ChatGPT Instant Checkout, in preview for US merchants.Cards for AI agents
Adyen
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Worldpay
NoNot offered.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Adyen
PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team.Worldpay
NoSales-led.Published pricing
Adyen
PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated.Worldpay
NoNegotiated.Public API and sandbox
Adyen
YesPublic API and test environment.Worldpay
YesDeveloper docs and sandbox for platforms.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
Adyen
Nothing announcedWorldpay
In short
Countries onboarded
Adyen
43 of 170Worldpay
32 of 170Designed for
Adyen
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions.Worldpay
Large retailers and enterprises that need high-volume acquiring in the US and Europe.Limitations
Adyen
Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.Worldpay
Pricing and contract terms are negotiated rather than published.| Adyen Payment processor | Worldpay Payment processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person. | Enterprise acquiring online and in store, processing in 140+ countries. |
| Pay people abroad | Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms. | Global payouts to bank accounts, cards and wallets. |
| Multi-currency account | Business accounts for platform users in selected markets. | Not offered |
| Business cards | Card issuing for platforms and businesses. | Not offered |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Stablecoin payouts and settlement through crypto infrastructure partners. |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees. | Worldpay's UK pricing page is an indicative quote tool: card percentages only appear after you enter turnover, transaction value and industry. The fixed charges it shows by default are a 4.5p authorisation fee, a £20 chargeback fee, £5 PCI DSS fee, £15 minimum monthly service charge and £20 per terminal per month. |
| Published prices | Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly fees | Card transaction rates (UK): Not published as fixed rates: an indicative quote is calculated from annual card turnover, average transaction value and merchant categoryAuthorisation fee (UK): 4.5p per transaction (indicative)Chargeback fee (UK): £20.00 (indicative)Monthly charges (UK): PCI DSS service fee £5.00; minimum monthly service charge £15.00; point-of-sale terminal £20.00 per terminal per month; gateway included (indicative) |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not stated |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services. | Restricted'Virtual Currency (using a card to fund a VC account - pending sponsor bank)' is a high-risk category needing enhanced review. The 'pending sponsor bank' wording suggests it may not be supported yet. Confidence lowered to low. |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited. | RestrictedMoney service businesses, credit repair, consumer financing, FX trading, investment firms and digital wallet/prepaid companies are high-risk categories needing enhanced review. |
| Gambling | RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited. | RestrictedGambling and gaming, including sports forecasting, odds making and DFS, plus sweepstakes, are high-risk categories needing enhanced review. |
| Adult content | RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. | RestrictedAdult entertainment, adult clubs and sexual aids/toys are high-risk categories needing enhanced review. |
| Dating | RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited. | RestrictedDating services are a high-risk category needing enhanced review. |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited. | RestrictedCard-not-present firearms sales are a high-risk category needing enhanced review. |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not stated |
| Supplements | RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms). | Restricted'Nutraceauticals Card Not Present' (sic) is on the high-risk list. Card-not-present nutraceutical sales need enhanced review through Worldpay sales. Card-present sales are not listed. |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited. | RestrictedCard-not-present pharmaceutical sales and script dispensing terminals are high-risk categories needing enhanced review. |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not stated |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | RestrictedMulti-level marketing is a high-risk category needing enhanced review. |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed. | RestrictedNegative option subscription enrollment is a high-risk category needing enhanced review. |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC. | YesWorldpay for Platforms (formerly Payrix): white-label APIs to sign up and underwrite sub-merchants, as a referral partner, PayFac-as-a-Service or full PayFac. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission. | YesSplit one transaction across several parties. |
| Embeddable UI | YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users. | YesWhite-label onboarding, payment forms and payout dashboards. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts. | YesAPI-driven funding to pay out sub-merchants. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development. | NoNot found in public materials. |
| Cards for your users | YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US. | NoNot found in public materials. |
| Financing for your users | YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US. | Not confirmedNot confirmed. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers. | NoSub-merchants are businesses. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBusiness accounts only. | NoNot offered. |
| Consumer cards | NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers. | NoNot offered. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot confirmed. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | PartlyStablecoin payouts through crypto infrastructure partners. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones. | YesFree MCP server on GitHub since November 2025, for building agents on Worldpay’s APIs. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol. | PartlyAgentic Commerce Protocol support for ChatGPT Instant Checkout, in preview for US merchants. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | NoNot offered. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team. | NoSales-led. |
| Published pricing | PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated. | NoNegotiated. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and test environment. | YesDeveloper docs and sandbox for platforms. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Nothing announced | AnnouncedWero at checkout for European merchantsNo date given Details and sources → |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 43 of 170 | 32 of 170 |
| Designed for | High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. | Large retailers and enterprises that need high-volume acquiring in the US and Europe. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses. | Pricing and contract terms are negotiated rather than published. |
Common questions
Is Adyen or Worldpay available in more countries?
Adyen. Of the 170 countries we track, Adyen onboards businesses in 43 and Worldpay in 32 (and 3 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 35. Only Adyen: Mexico, Brazil, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, India, Japan, Malaysia and New Zealand.
What do Adyen and Worldpay offer?
Accept payments: Adyen yes, Worldpay yes. Pay people abroad: Adyen yes, Worldpay yes. Multi-currency account: Adyen yes, Worldpay no. Business cards: Adyen yes, Worldpay no. Stablecoins: Adyen no, Worldpay yes. Yield on idle cash: Adyen no, Worldpay no.
How do Adyen and Worldpay differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Accounts that hold money: Adyen partly, Worldpay no. Cards for your users: Adyen yes, Worldpay no. Financing for your users: Adyen yes, Worldpay not confirmed. Accept stablecoins: Adyen no, Worldpay not confirmed. Pay out in stablecoins: Adyen no, Worldpay partly. Official MCP server: Adyen not confirmed, Worldpay yes. Checkout for AI agents: Adyen yes, Worldpay partly. Cards for AI agents: Adyen not confirmed, Worldpay no.
Who is Adyen designed for?
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.
Who is Worldpay designed for?
Large retailers and enterprises that need high-volume acquiring in the US and Europe. Limitations: Pricing and contract terms are negotiated rather than published.
Related comparisons