Compare
Mercury vs Rapyd
Only Rapyd · 61
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Mercury
AvailableRapyd
AvailableAccept payments
Mercury
Invoices your customers pay by card or ACH debit, also available through the API.Rapyd
Online card acquiring and local payment methods (cards, wallets, bank transfers, stablecoins, cash vouchers) through an API, hosted checkout, payment links and plugins, with subscriptions. Rapyd says customers can pay from 190+ markets in 150+ currencies.Pay people abroad
Mercury
Domestic ACH and wires, international wires, and API payments to saved recipients.Rapyd
Rapyd Disburse sends single and mass payouts by bank transfer, real-time payment networks, card payouts (Visa Direct, Mastercard Send), stablecoins and third-party wallets. Rapyd states 190+ countries and 120+ currencies.Multi-currency account
Mercury
US dollar checking and savings with FDIC insurance through partner banks, plus Treasury for idle cash.Rapyd
Every Rapyd client gets a Rapyd Wallet: a multi-currency balance with fiat and stablecoin support, sub-accounts, and virtual account numbers (vIBANs and local formats) for receiving transfers. Rapyd also documents a separate Rapyd Business Account for Hong Kong businesses (HKD, USD, EUR and GBP balances; HK, UK and Europe receiving accounts).Business cards
Mercury
Debit cards and the IO corporate credit card with spend controls.Rapyd
Rapyd Issuing creates pre-funded physical and virtual cards drawn on a Rapyd Wallet, with spending limits and merchant restrictions. Issuing is offered in specific countries only, confirmed with sales; Rapyd cites 10+ markets.Stablecoins
Mercury
Not offeredRapyd
Since 9 September 2025, businesses can accept stablecoin payments (converted to fiat), settle in stablecoins or fiat, and pay out in stablecoins. Rapyd says this runs through regulated third-party partners and that it does not itself issue, custody or directly process crypto assets. Supported coins are not named.Yield on idle cash
Mercury
Mercury Treasury invests idle cash in government money market funds and, since August 2026, an ultra-short bond fund. It is not FDIC insured, may lose value, and carries a 0.15–0.60% fee.Rapyd
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Mercury
Low risk, not insuredMoney market fundModerate riskShort-term bond fundRapyd
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Mercury
Money market fund: Not a deposit and not insured. The fund holds short-term government debt and aims to keep its value stable, but that is not guaranteed. Broker protection (SIPC in the US) covers the broker failing, not investment losses.Short-term bond fund: Not insured, and the price moves every day, so you can get back less than you put in.Rapyd
–Does the rate change?
Mercury
Floats daily with central bank rates, so it falls when rates are cut. Moves with interest rates and bond prices.Last seen: Up to about 3.6% net, for the largest balances (May 2026)Rapyd
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Mercury
Mercury's core banking is $0 per month. Paid plans are Plus and Pro ($29.90 and $299 per month on annual billing; Mercury's FAQ says paid plans start at $35/month). ACH and domestic wires are free; USD international wires are free (or a flat $15 to send as OUR); non-USD international wires carry a 1% conversion fee; non-USD card transactions carry an international transaction fee (rate not stated on the page).Rapyd
Not yet researchedPublished prices
Mercury
Base plan (US): $0 per monthPaid plans (US): Plus $29.90/month and Pro $299/month (annual-billing prices shown, 15% off); FAQ says paid plans start at $35/monthDomestic transfers (US): ACH, domestic wires and real-time payments freeInternational wires (US): USD international wires free (SHA; intermediary bank fees may be deducted from what the recipient gets), or a flat $15 to send as OUR so intermediary fees are charged to Mercury; 1% conversion fee on non-USD international wires (contact Mercury if exchanging over $200K)Card FX (US): International transaction fee on non-USD debit and credit card transactions (rate not stated on the pricing page)Rapyd
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Mercury
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedCrypto
Mercury
RestrictedCrypto exchanges cannot open accounts. Mercury says it supports many other crypto and Web3 businesses (startups, DAOs, funds); accounts hold fiat only.Rapyd
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
Mercury
RestrictedMoney services businesses cannot open accounts. Other financial services (e.g. funds) are not excluded.Rapyd
Not yet researchedGambling
Mercury
Not allowedInternet gambling businesses cannot open accounts, and the Terms bar online gambling transactions even where legal.Rapyd
Not yet researchedAdult content
Mercury
Not allowedAdult entertainment businesses cannot open accounts.Rapyd
Not yet researchedDating
Mercury
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
Mercury
Not allowedMercury's Web3 FAQ says it can't work with businesses that sell firearms, weapons or ammunition. This is not repeated on the eligibility article.Rapyd
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
Mercury
Not allowedCannabis businesses cannot open accounts; the Web3 FAQ adds CBD and cannabis-derived products.Rapyd
Not yet researchedSupplements
Mercury
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
Mercury
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedTravel
Mercury
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
Mercury
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
Mercury
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Mercury
NoMercury’s API manages your own accounts; there is no product for creating accounts for your users.Rapyd
YesPartners create merchant organisations and submit KYB applications, including sub-merchant applications, through the partner onboarding API. Merchants who use Rapyd through a marketplace complete Rapyd's own KYB through a hosted page.Split payments and platform fees
Mercury
NoNot a payment processor.Rapyd
YesThe marketplace solution splits payments by predefined rules; the seller's share lands in a sub-account.Embeddable UI
Mercury
NoNo embeddable components.Rapyd
PartlyRapyd offers hosted pages (identity verification, virtual card display, hosted checkout) and markets white-label checkout and payouts. Embeddable onboarding components were not found.Pay out to your users
Mercury
PartlyAPI payments to saved recipients by ACH or wire. Fine for paying vendors, not built for paying a platform’s users at scale.Rapyd
YesDisburse supports B2B, B2C and C2C payouts to bank accounts, cards, RTP networks, wallets and stablecoins.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Mercury
NoNot offered to platforms.Rapyd
YesPlatforms issue wallets to consumers and businesses; each wallet can have several virtual account numbers.Cards for your users
Mercury
NoCards are for your own team.Rapyd
YesCards are funded by a Rapyd Wallet and linked to a wallet contact; issuing countries are confirmed with sales.Financing for your users
Mercury
NoNot offered to platforms.Rapyd
Not confirmedNo lending product found. The Wallet FAQ says the infrastructure enables 'fintech capabilities like lending', but no lending product or terms were found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Mercury
NoMercury Personal is Mercury’s own consumer banking; you cannot build consumer products on it.Rapyd
YesWallets of type 'person' are for individual consumers, and Rapyd offers a hosted KYC page for wallet contacts.Consumer wallets or accounts
Mercury
NoNot offered to platforms.Rapyd
YesPlatforms can create personal wallets for their customers.Consumer cards
Mercury
NoNot offered to platforms.Rapyd
YesRapyd's docs describe Issuing as issuing cards to consumers and businesses. Issuing countries are confirmed with sales.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Mercury
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
YesAccept stablecoin payments and convert to fiat, or settle in stablecoin (since 9 Sep 2025, through third-party partners).Hold stablecoin balances
Mercury
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
YesRapyd says the Wallet natively supports stablecoins and that businesses can settle in stablecoins. Rapyd itself does not custody crypto; partners provide this.Pay out in stablecoins
Mercury
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
YesStablecoin payouts are listed as a Disburse rail.Issue your own stablecoin
Mercury
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Rapyd
NoRapyd states it does not itself issue crypto assets; no branded-stablecoin product was found.Regulatory risk in United States
Mercury
No stablecoin productsRapyd
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Mercury
YesHosted MCP server in beta: AI assistants can read balances, transactions, cards and recipients, with OAuth sign-in.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (Rapyd docs navigation and a web search, Oct 2026).Checkout for AI agents
Mercury
NoDoes not process checkout payments, so there is nothing for an agent to check out with.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Cards for AI agents
Mercury
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Mercury
YesApply online.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Mercury
YesFree core plan; paid plans are published.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Mercury
YesREST API for accounts, transactions, payments and invoicing, with webhooks and OAuth for partner apps.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
Mercury
Rapyd
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
Mercury
1 of 170Rapyd
62 of 170Designed for
Mercury
US startups that want a fast, API-friendly bank account, including founders based outside the US.Rapyd
Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API.Limitations
Mercury
Only for US-registered companies, and not designed for building products on top of.Rapyd
Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published.| Mercury Business banking | Rapyd Payment processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Invoices your customers pay by card or ACH debit, also available through the API. | Online card acquiring and local payment methods (cards, wallets, bank transfers, stablecoins, cash vouchers) through an API, hosted checkout, payment links and plugins, with subscriptions. Rapyd says customers can pay from 190+ markets in 150+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Domestic ACH and wires, international wires, and API payments to saved recipients. | Rapyd Disburse sends single and mass payouts by bank transfer, real-time payment networks, card payouts (Visa Direct, Mastercard Send), stablecoins and third-party wallets. Rapyd states 190+ countries and 120+ currencies. |
| Multi-currency account | US dollar checking and savings with FDIC insurance through partner banks, plus Treasury for idle cash. | Every Rapyd client gets a Rapyd Wallet: a multi-currency balance with fiat and stablecoin support, sub-accounts, and virtual account numbers (vIBANs and local formats) for receiving transfers. Rapyd also documents a separate Rapyd Business Account for Hong Kong businesses (HKD, USD, EUR and GBP balances; HK, UK and Europe receiving accounts). |
| Business cards | Debit cards and the IO corporate credit card with spend controls. | Rapyd Issuing creates pre-funded physical and virtual cards drawn on a Rapyd Wallet, with spending limits and merchant restrictions. Issuing is offered in specific countries only, confirmed with sales; Rapyd cites 10+ markets. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Since 9 September 2025, businesses can accept stablecoin payments (converted to fiat), settle in stablecoins or fiat, and pay out in stablecoins. Rapyd says this runs through regulated third-party partners and that it does not itself issue, custody or directly process crypto assets. Supported coins are not named. |
| Yield on idle cash | Mercury Treasury invests idle cash in government money market funds and, since August 2026, an ultra-short bond fund. It is not FDIC insured, may lose value, and carries a 0.15–0.60% fee. | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | Low risk, not insuredMoney market fundModerate riskShort-term bond fund | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | Money market fund: Not a deposit and not insured. The fund holds short-term government debt and aims to keep its value stable, but that is not guaranteed. Broker protection (SIPC in the US) covers the broker failing, not investment losses.Short-term bond fund: Not insured, and the price moves every day, so you can get back less than you put in. | – |
| Does the rate change? | Floats daily with central bank rates, so it falls when rates are cut. Moves with interest rates and bond prices.Last seen: Up to about 3.6% net, for the largest balances (May 2026) | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Mercury's core banking is $0 per month. Paid plans are Plus and Pro ($29.90 and $299 per month on annual billing; Mercury's FAQ says paid plans start at $35/month). ACH and domestic wires are free; USD international wires are free (or a flat $15 to send as OUR); non-USD international wires carry a 1% conversion fee; non-USD card transactions carry an international transaction fee (rate not stated on the page). | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | Base plan (US): $0 per monthPaid plans (US): Plus $29.90/month and Pro $299/month (annual-billing prices shown, 15% off); FAQ says paid plans start at $35/monthDomestic transfers (US): ACH, domestic wires and real-time payments freeInternational wires (US): USD international wires free (SHA; intermediary bank fees may be deducted from what the recipient gets), or a flat $15 to send as OUR so intermediary fees are charged to Mercury; 1% conversion fee on non-USD international wires (contact Mercury if exchanging over $200K)Card FX (US): International transaction fee on non-USD debit and credit card transactions (rate not stated on the pricing page) | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCrypto exchanges cannot open accounts. Mercury says it supports many other crypto and Web3 businesses (startups, DAOs, funds); accounts hold fiat only. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services businesses cannot open accounts. Other financial services (e.g. funds) are not excluded. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | Not allowedInternet gambling businesses cannot open accounts, and the Terms bar online gambling transactions even where legal. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | Not allowedAdult entertainment businesses cannot open accounts. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedMercury's Web3 FAQ says it can't work with businesses that sell firearms, weapons or ammunition. This is not repeated on the eligibility article. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | Not allowedCannabis businesses cannot open accounts; the Web3 FAQ adds CBD and cannabis-derived products. | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Travel | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | NoMercury’s API manages your own accounts; there is no product for creating accounts for your users. | YesPartners create merchant organisations and submit KYB applications, including sub-merchant applications, through the partner onboarding API. Merchants who use Rapyd through a marketplace complete Rapyd's own KYB through a hosted page. |
| Split payments and platform fees | NoNot a payment processor. | YesThe marketplace solution splits payments by predefined rules; the seller's share lands in a sub-account. |
| Embeddable UI | NoNo embeddable components. | PartlyRapyd offers hosted pages (identity verification, virtual card display, hosted checkout) and markets white-label checkout and payouts. Embeddable onboarding components were not found. |
| Pay out to your users | PartlyAPI payments to saved recipients by ACH or wire. Fine for paying vendors, not built for paying a platform’s users at scale. | YesDisburse supports B2B, B2C and C2C payouts to bank accounts, cards, RTP networks, wallets and stablecoins. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | NoNot offered to platforms. | YesPlatforms issue wallets to consumers and businesses; each wallet can have several virtual account numbers. |
| Cards for your users | NoCards are for your own team. | YesCards are funded by a Rapyd Wallet and linked to a wallet contact; issuing countries are confirmed with sales. |
| Financing for your users | NoNot offered to platforms. | Not confirmedNo lending product found. The Wallet FAQ says the infrastructure enables 'fintech capabilities like lending', but no lending product or terms were found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoMercury Personal is Mercury’s own consumer banking; you cannot build consumer products on it. | YesWallets of type 'person' are for individual consumers, and Rapyd offers a hosted KYC page for wallet contacts. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoNot offered to platforms. | YesPlatforms can create personal wallets for their customers. |
| Consumer cards | NoNot offered to platforms. | YesRapyd's docs describe Issuing as issuing cards to consumers and businesses. Issuing countries are confirmed with sales. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesAccept stablecoin payments and convert to fiat, or settle in stablecoin (since 9 Sep 2025, through third-party partners). |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesRapyd says the Wallet natively supports stablecoins and that businesses can settle in stablecoins. Rapyd itself does not custody crypto; partners provide this. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesStablecoin payouts are listed as a Disburse rail. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | NoRapyd states it does not itself issue crypto assets; no branded-stablecoin product was found. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesHosted MCP server in beta: AI assistants can read balances, transactions, cards and recipients, with OAuth sign-in. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (Rapyd docs navigation and a web search, Oct 2026). |
| Checkout for AI agents | NoDoes not process checkout payments, so there is nothing for an agent to check out with. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | YesApply online. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | YesFree core plan; paid plans are published. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesREST API for accounts, transactions, payments and invoicing, with webhooks and OAuth for partner apps. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Awaiting approvalMercury Bank, N.A.No date given · Includes United States Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 1 of 170 | 62 of 170 |
| Designed for | US startups that want a fast, API-friendly bank account, including founders based outside the US. | Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API. |
| Limitations | Only for US-registered companies, and not designed for building products on top of. | Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published. |
Common questions
Is Mercury or Rapyd available in more countries?
Rapyd. Of the 170 countries we track, Mercury onboards businesses in 1 and Rapyd in 62. Both serve businesses in 1. Only Rapyd: Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany, France, Netherlands, Belgium and 49 more.
What do Mercury and Rapyd offer?
Accept payments: Mercury yes, Rapyd yes. Pay people abroad: Mercury yes, Rapyd yes. Multi-currency account: Mercury yes, Rapyd yes. Business cards: Mercury yes, Rapyd yes. Stablecoins: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Yield on idle cash: Mercury yes, Rapyd no.
How do Mercury and Rapyd differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Sub-accounts for your users: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Split payments and platform fees: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Embeddable UI: Mercury no, Rapyd partly. Pay out to your users: Mercury partly, Rapyd yes. Accounts that hold money: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Cards for your users: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Financing for your users: Mercury no, Rapyd not confirmed. End users can be individuals: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Consumer wallets or accounts: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Consumer cards: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Accept stablecoins: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Hold stablecoin balances: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Pay out in stablecoins: Mercury no, Rapyd yes. Official MCP server: Mercury yes, Rapyd not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: Mercury no, Rapyd not confirmed.
Who is Mercury designed for?
US startups that want a fast, API-friendly bank account, including founders based outside the US. Limitations: Only for US-registered companies, and not designed for building products on top of.
Who is Rapyd designed for?
Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API. Limitations: Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published.
Related comparisons