Compare
PayPal vs Rapyd
Only PayPal · 34
Only Rapyd · 3
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
PayPal
AvailableRapyd
AvailableAccept payments
PayPal
PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection.Rapyd
Online card acquiring and local payment methods (cards, wallets, bank transfers, stablecoins, cash vouchers) through an API, hosted checkout, payment links and plugins, with subscriptions. Rapyd says customers can pay from 190+ markets in 150+ currencies.Pay people abroad
PayPal
Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet.Rapyd
Rapyd Disburse sends single and mass payouts by bank transfer, real-time payment networks, card payouts (Visa Direct, Mastercard Send), stablecoins and third-party wallets. Rapyd states 190+ countries and 120+ currencies.Multi-currency account
PayPal
Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account.Rapyd
Every Rapyd client gets a Rapyd Wallet: a multi-currency balance with fiat and stablecoin support, sub-accounts, and virtual account numbers (vIBANs and local formats) for receiving transfers. Rapyd also documents a separate Rapyd Business Account for Hong Kong businesses (HKD, USD, EUR and GBP balances; HK, UK and Europe receiving accounts).Business cards
PayPal
PayPal Business Debit Mastercard.Rapyd
Rapyd Issuing creates pre-funded physical and virtual cards drawn on a Rapyd Wallet, with spending limits and merchant restrictions. Issuing is offered in specific countries only, confirmed with sales; Rapyd cites 10+ markets.Stablecoins
PayPal
US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Rapyd
Since 9 September 2025, businesses can accept stablecoin payments (converted to fiat), settle in stablecoins or fiat, and pay out in stablecoins. Rapyd says this runs through regulated third-party partners and that it does not itself issue, custody or directly process crypto assets. Supported coins are not named.Yield on idle cash
PayPal
US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York.Rapyd
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
PayPal
Moderate riskStablecoin rewardsRapyd
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
PayPal
Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly.Rapyd
–Does the rate change?
PayPal
Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026)Rapyd
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
PayPal
PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12.Rapyd
Not yet researchedPublished prices
PayPal
PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkoutRapyd
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
PayPal
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedCrypto
PayPal
RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval.Rapyd
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
PayPal
RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedGambling
PayPal
RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal.Rapyd
Not yet researchedAdult content
PayPal
RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedDating
PayPal
RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval.Rapyd
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
PayPal
Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
PayPal
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedSupplements
PayPal
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
PayPal
RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval.Rapyd
Not yet researchedTravel
PayPal
RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned.Rapyd
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
PayPal
RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited.Rapyd
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
PayPal
Not statedRapyd
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
PayPal
YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses.Rapyd
YesPartners create merchant organisations and submit KYB applications, including sub-merchant applications, through the partner onboarding API. Merchants who use Rapyd through a marketplace complete Rapyd's own KYB through a hosted page.Split payments and platform fees
PayPal
YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow.Rapyd
YesThe marketplace solution splits payments by predefined rules; the seller's share lands in a sub-account.Embeddable UI
PayPal
PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow.Rapyd
PartlyRapyd offers hosted pages (identity verification, virtual card display, hosted checkout) and markets white-label checkout and payouts. Embeddable onboarding components were not found.Pay out to your users
PayPal
YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts.Rapyd
YesDisburse supports B2B, B2C and C2C payouts to bank accounts, cards, RTP networks, wallets and stablecoins.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
PayPal
NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users.Rapyd
YesPlatforms issue wallets to consumers and businesses; each wallet can have several virtual account numbers.Cards for your users
PayPal
NoNo card issuing for platform users.Rapyd
YesCards are funded by a Rapyd Wallet and linked to a wallet contact; issuing countries are confirmed with sales.Financing for your users
PayPal
NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms.Rapyd
Not confirmedNo lending product found. The Wallet FAQ says the infrastructure enables 'fintech capabilities like lending', but no lending product or terms were found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
PayPal
PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users.Rapyd
YesWallets of type 'person' are for individual consumers, and Rapyd offers a hosted KYC page for wallet contacts.Consumer wallets or accounts
PayPal
NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet.Rapyd
YesPlatforms can create personal wallets for their customers.Consumer cards
PayPal
NoNot offered to platforms.Rapyd
YesRapyd's docs describe Issuing as issuing cards to consumers and businesses. Issuing countries are confirmed with sales.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
PayPal
PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars.Rapyd
YesAccept stablecoin payments and convert to fiat, or settle in stablecoin (since 9 Sep 2025, through third-party partners).Hold stablecoin balances
PayPal
PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Rapyd
YesRapyd says the Wallet natively supports stablecoins and that businesses can settle in stablecoins. Rapyd itself does not custody crypto; partners provide this.Pay out in stablecoins
PayPal
Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts.Rapyd
YesStablecoin payouts are listed as a Disburse rail.Issue your own stablecoin
PayPal
NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one.Rapyd
NoRapyd states it does not itself issue crypto assets; no branded-stablecoin product was found.Regulatory risk in United States
PayPal
Low riskRapyd
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
PayPal
YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (Rapyd docs navigation and a web search, Oct 2026).Checkout for AI agents
PayPal
YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Cards for AI agents
PayPal
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
PayPal
YesSign up online.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
PayPal
YesMerchant fees are published by country.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
PayPal
YesPublic REST API and sandbox.Rapyd
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
PayPal
Rapyd
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
PayPal
91 of 170Rapyd
62 of 170Designed for
PayPal
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers.Rapyd
Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API.Limitations
PayPal
PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.Rapyd
Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published.| PayPal Payment processor | Rapyd Payment processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection. | Online card acquiring and local payment methods (cards, wallets, bank transfers, stablecoins, cash vouchers) through an API, hosted checkout, payment links and plugins, with subscriptions. Rapyd says customers can pay from 190+ markets in 150+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet. | Rapyd Disburse sends single and mass payouts by bank transfer, real-time payment networks, card payouts (Visa Direct, Mastercard Send), stablecoins and third-party wallets. Rapyd states 190+ countries and 120+ currencies. |
| Multi-currency account | Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account. | Every Rapyd client gets a Rapyd Wallet: a multi-currency balance with fiat and stablecoin support, sub-accounts, and virtual account numbers (vIBANs and local formats) for receiving transfers. Rapyd also documents a separate Rapyd Business Account for Hong Kong businesses (HKD, USD, EUR and GBP balances; HK, UK and Europe receiving accounts). |
| Business cards | PayPal Business Debit Mastercard. | Rapyd Issuing creates pre-funded physical and virtual cards drawn on a Rapyd Wallet, with spending limits and merchant restrictions. Issuing is offered in specific countries only, confirmed with sales; Rapyd cites 10+ markets. |
| Stablecoins | US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | Since 9 September 2025, businesses can accept stablecoin payments (converted to fiat), settle in stablecoins or fiat, and pay out in stablecoins. Rapyd says this runs through regulated third-party partners and that it does not itself issue, custody or directly process crypto assets. Supported coins are not named. |
| Yield on idle cash | US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York. | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | Moderate riskStablecoin rewards | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly. | – |
| Does the rate change? | Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026) | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkout | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses. | YesPartners create merchant organisations and submit KYB applications, including sub-merchant applications, through the partner onboarding API. Merchants who use Rapyd through a marketplace complete Rapyd's own KYB through a hosted page. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow. | YesThe marketplace solution splits payments by predefined rules; the seller's share lands in a sub-account. |
| Embeddable UI | PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow. | PartlyRapyd offers hosted pages (identity verification, virtual card display, hosted checkout) and markets white-label checkout and payouts. Embeddable onboarding components were not found. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts. | YesDisburse supports B2B, B2C and C2C payouts to bank accounts, cards, RTP networks, wallets and stablecoins. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users. | YesPlatforms issue wallets to consumers and businesses; each wallet can have several virtual account numbers. |
| Cards for your users | NoNo card issuing for platform users. | YesCards are funded by a Rapyd Wallet and linked to a wallet contact; issuing countries are confirmed with sales. |
| Financing for your users | NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms. | Not confirmedNo lending product found. The Wallet FAQ says the infrastructure enables 'fintech capabilities like lending', but no lending product or terms were found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users. | YesWallets of type 'person' are for individual consumers, and Rapyd offers a hosted KYC page for wallet contacts. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet. | YesPlatforms can create personal wallets for their customers. |
| Consumer cards | NoNot offered to platforms. | YesRapyd's docs describe Issuing as issuing cards to consumers and businesses. Issuing countries are confirmed with sales. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars. | YesAccept stablecoin payments and convert to fiat, or settle in stablecoin (since 9 Sep 2025, through third-party partners). |
| Hold stablecoin balances | PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | YesRapyd says the Wallet natively supports stablecoins and that businesses can settle in stablecoins. Rapyd itself does not custody crypto; partners provide this. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts. | YesStablecoin payouts are listed as a Disburse rail. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one. | NoRapyd states it does not itself issue crypto assets; no branded-stablecoin product was found. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | Low risk | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (Rapyd docs navigation and a web search, Oct 2026). |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | YesSign up online. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | YesMerchant fees are published by country. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic REST API and sandbox. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Awaiting approvalPayPal Bank in the USNo date given · Includes United States Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 91 of 170 | 62 of 170 |
| Designed for | Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. | Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API. |
| Limitations | PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales. | Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published. |
Common questions
Is PayPal or Rapyd available in more countries?
PayPal. Of the 170 countries we track, PayPal onboards businesses in 91 (and 2 more with limits) and Rapyd in 62. Both serve businesses in 59. Only PayPal: Canada, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, China, Bahamas, Belize, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala and 22 more. Only Rapyd: Turkey, Montenegro and North Macedonia.
What do PayPal and Rapyd offer?
Accept payments: PayPal yes, Rapyd yes. Pay people abroad: PayPal yes, Rapyd yes. Multi-currency account: PayPal yes, Rapyd yes. Business cards: PayPal yes, Rapyd yes. Stablecoins: PayPal yes, Rapyd yes. Yield on idle cash: PayPal yes, Rapyd no.
How do PayPal and Rapyd differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Accounts that hold money: PayPal no, Rapyd yes. Cards for your users: PayPal no, Rapyd yes. Financing for your users: PayPal no, Rapyd not confirmed. End users can be individuals: PayPal partly, Rapyd yes. Consumer wallets or accounts: PayPal no, Rapyd yes. Consumer cards: PayPal no, Rapyd yes. Accept stablecoins: PayPal partly, Rapyd yes. Hold stablecoin balances: PayPal partly, Rapyd yes. Pay out in stablecoins: PayPal not confirmed, Rapyd yes. Official MCP server: PayPal yes, Rapyd not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: PayPal yes, Rapyd not confirmed.
Who is PayPal designed for?
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. Limitations: PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.
Who is Rapyd designed for?
Businesses domiciled in a Rapyd-listed country that want card acquiring, local payment methods, payouts and a multi-currency wallet from one API. Limitations: Rapyd's own merchant-location lists disagree for about a dozen countries, and card pricing outside a few Latin American markets is quoted rather than published.
Related comparisons