Compare
Adyen vs Flutterwave
Only Flutterwave · 122
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Adyen
AvailableFlutterwave
AvailableAccept payments
Adyen
Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person.Flutterwave
Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies.Pay people abroad
Adyen
Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms.Flutterwave
Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default.Multi-currency account
Adyen
Business accounts for platform users in selected markets.Flutterwave
Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account.Business cards
Adyen
Card issuing for platforms and businesses.Flutterwave
Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated.Stablecoins
Adyen
Not offeredFlutterwave
Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon.Yield on idle cash
Adyen
Not offeredFlutterwave
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Adyen
No yield offeredFlutterwave
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Adyen
–Flutterwave
–Does the rate change?
Adyen
–Flutterwave
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Adyen
Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPublished prices
Adyen
Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly feesFlutterwave
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Adyen
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedCrypto
Adyen
RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
Adyen
RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedGambling
Adyen
RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedAdult content
Adyen
RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedDating
Adyen
RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
Adyen
Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
Adyen
RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedSupplements
Adyen
RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms).Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
Adyen
RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedTravel
Adyen
RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
Adyen
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
Adyen
Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Adyen
YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC.Flutterwave
PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds.Split payments and platform fees
Adyen
YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission.Flutterwave
YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount.Embeddable UI
Adyen
YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users.Flutterwave
PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found.Pay out to your users
Adyen
YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts.Flutterwave
YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Adyen
PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found.Cards for your users
Adyen
YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US.Flutterwave
YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees.Financing for your users
Adyen
YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US.Flutterwave
Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Adyen
NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented.Consumer wallets or accounts
Adyen
NoBusiness accounts only.Flutterwave
PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts).Consumer cards
Adyen
NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers.Flutterwave
PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found.Hold stablecoin balances
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances.Pay out in stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported.Issue your own stablecoin
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Regulatory risk in United States
Adyen
No stablecoin productsFlutterwave
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Adyen
Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official.Checkout for AI agents
Adyen
YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Cards for AI agents
Adyen
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Adyen
PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Adyen
PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Adyen
YesPublic API and test environment.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.In short
Countries onboarded
Adyen
43 of 170Flutterwave
12 of 170Designed for
Adyen
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions.Flutterwave
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account.Limitations
Adyen
Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.Flutterwave
Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.| Adyen Payment processor | Flutterwave Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person. | Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms. | Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default. |
| Multi-currency account | Business accounts for platform users in selected markets. | Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account. |
| Business cards | Card issuing for platforms and businesses. | Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly fees | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms). | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed. | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC. | PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission. | YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount. |
| Embeddable UI | YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users. | PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts. | YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development. | PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found. |
| Cards for your users | YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US. | YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees. |
| Financing for your users | YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US. | Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers. | PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBusiness accounts only. | PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts). |
| Consumer cards | NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers. | PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones. | Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and test environment. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 43 of 170 | 12 of 170 |
| Designed for | High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. | Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses. | Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use. |
Common questions
Is Adyen or Flutterwave available in more countries?
Flutterwave. Of the 170 countries we track, Adyen onboards businesses in 43 and Flutterwave in 12 (and 153 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 43. Only Flutterwave: Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, Saudi Arabia, Israel, Turkey, Egypt, Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa, Ghana and 110 more.
What do Adyen and Flutterwave offer?
Accept payments: Adyen yes, Flutterwave yes. Pay people abroad: Adyen yes, Flutterwave yes. Multi-currency account: Adyen yes, Flutterwave yes. Business cards: Adyen yes, Flutterwave yes. Stablecoins: Adyen no, Flutterwave yes. Yield on idle cash: Adyen no, Flutterwave no.
How do Adyen and Flutterwave differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Sub-accounts for your users: Adyen yes, Flutterwave partly. Embeddable UI: Adyen yes, Flutterwave partly. Financing for your users: Adyen yes, Flutterwave not confirmed. End users can be individuals: Adyen no, Flutterwave partly. Consumer wallets or accounts: Adyen no, Flutterwave partly. Consumer cards: Adyen no, Flutterwave partly. Accept stablecoins: Adyen no, Flutterwave partly. Hold stablecoin balances: Adyen no, Flutterwave yes. Pay out in stablecoins: Adyen no, Flutterwave yes. Issue your own stablecoin: Adyen no, Flutterwave not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: Adyen yes, Flutterwave not confirmed.
Who is Adyen designed for?
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.
Who is Flutterwave designed for?
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. Limitations: Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.
Related comparisons