Compare
Adyen vs Razorpay
Only Razorpay · 122
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Adyen
AvailableRazorpay
AvailableAccept payments
Adyen
Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person.Razorpay
Payment gateway, payment links, payment pages, subscriptions, QR codes and POS. In India it supports cards, netbanking, UPI, wallets, EMI and Pay Later; Malaysia (Curlec) adds FPX, DuitNow and others; Singapore and US offer cards, wallets, PayNow (SG) and ACH (US). Non-Indian businesses can also collect from Indian customers.Pay people abroad
Adyen
Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms.Razorpay
RazorpayX payouts to contacts in India via IMPS, RTGS, NEFT or UPI from a RazorpayX current account; also vendor and salary payouts. Razorpay Curlec in Malaysia also lists payouts. Cross-border payouts are not documented as a general product.Not for businesses in United States.Multi-currency account
Adyen
Business accounts for platform users in selected markets.Razorpay
RazorpayX current accounts for Indian businesses, provided by partner banks (ICICI, RBL, Yes Bank); RazorpayX is not a bank.Not for businesses in United States.Business cards
Adyen
Card issuing for platforms and businesses.Razorpay
RazorpayX Corporate Card (Visa corporate credit card issued by RBI-licensed partner banks) for Indian businesses.Not for businesses in United States.Stablecoins
Adyen
Not offeredRazorpay
Not offeredYield on idle cash
Adyen
Not offeredRazorpay
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Adyen
No yield offeredRazorpay
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Adyen
–Razorpay
–Does the rate change?
Adyen
–Razorpay
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Adyen
Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees.Razorpay
Not yet researchedPublished prices
Adyen
Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly feesRazorpay
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Adyen
Not statedRazorpay
Not yet researchedCrypto
Adyen
RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services.Razorpay
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
Adyen
RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedGambling
Adyen
RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedAdult content
Adyen
RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms.Razorpay
Not yet researchedDating
Adyen
RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
Adyen
Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
Adyen
RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Razorpay
Not yet researchedSupplements
Adyen
RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms).Razorpay
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
Adyen
RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedTravel
Adyen
RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Razorpay
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
Adyen
Not statedRazorpay
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
Adyen
Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed.Razorpay
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Adyen
YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC.Razorpay
YesPartners can onboard sub-merchants through APIs, with sub-merchants completing KYC on the partner's platform.Split payments and platform fees
Adyen
YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission.Razorpay
YesRoute splits incoming payments among linked accounts. Since RBI's September 2025 rules, Route requires minimum turnover (over INR 40 lakh domestic or INR 5 lakh export) and a payer-payee transparency declaration.Embeddable UI
Adyen
YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users.Razorpay
YesMerchant Onboarding UI: pre-built, brand-configurable components for onboarding sub-merchants (on request); Embedded Payments for platforms.Pay out to your users
Adyen
YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts.Razorpay
YesRazorpayX payouts to bank accounts and UPI IDs in India (IMPS/RTGS/NEFT/UPI). Domestic Indian payouts only in the docs checked.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Adyen
PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). RazorpayX current accounts are for the merchant itself, not for its users.Cards for your users
Adyen
YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). The RazorpayX Corporate Card is for the merchant's own spending.Financing for your users
Adyen
YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US.Razorpay
PartlyRazorpay Capital runs an invite-only partner programme in which B2B businesses can refer their customers to Razorpay's Line of Credit. This is a referral, not an embedded lending API.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Adyen
NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Consumer wallets or accounts
Adyen
NoBusiness accounts only.Razorpay
NoRazorpay's White Label Wallet (closed wallets for your customers) was discontinued in April 2023 and takes no new users.Consumer cards
Adyen
NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). Razorpay's India terms bar merchants from crypto activity.Hold stablecoin balances
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Pay out in stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Issue your own stablecoin
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Regulatory risk in United States
Adyen
No stablecoin productsRazorpay
No stablecoin productsAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Adyen
Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones.Razorpay
YesOfficial Razorpay MCP Server, hosted (remote) or self-hosted via Docker, with 35+ tools covering payments, orders, links, refunds, settlements and payouts.Checkout for AI agents
Adyen
YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol.Razorpay
PartlyRazorpay Agentic Payments: in-app agentic checkout (live in beta), voice payments and in-chat purchases on LLM platforms.Cards for AI agents
Adyen
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Razorpay
PartlyUPI Reserve Pay (live) lets AI agents pay within pre-approved spending limits. It is a UPI mandate, not a card.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Adyen
PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Adyen
PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Adyen
YesPublic API and test environment.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot researched yet.In short
Countries onboarded
Adyen
43 of 170Razorpay
4 of 170Designed for
Adyen
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions.Razorpay
Businesses registered in India that need local methods such as UPI and netbanking, and foreign businesses that want to sell to Indian customers without an Indian entity.Limitations
Adyen
Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.Razorpay
Full service is limited to India, Malaysia, Singapore and the US, and products differ sharply by market; most platform and banking features are India-only.| Adyen Payment processor | Razorpay Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person. | Payment gateway, payment links, payment pages, subscriptions, QR codes and POS. In India it supports cards, netbanking, UPI, wallets, EMI and Pay Later; Malaysia (Curlec) adds FPX, DuitNow and others; Singapore and US offer cards, wallets, PayNow (SG) and ACH (US). Non-Indian businesses can also collect from Indian customers. |
| Pay people abroad | Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms. | RazorpayX payouts to contacts in India via IMPS, RTGS, NEFT or UPI from a RazorpayX current account; also vendor and salary payouts. Razorpay Curlec in Malaysia also lists payouts. Cross-border payouts are not documented as a general product.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Multi-currency account | Business accounts for platform users in selected markets. | RazorpayX current accounts for Indian businesses, provided by partner banks (ICICI, RBL, Yes Bank); RazorpayX is not a bank.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Business cards | Card issuing for platforms and businesses. | RazorpayX Corporate Card (Visa corporate credit card issued by RBI-licensed partner banks) for Indian businesses.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly fees | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms). | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed. | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC. | YesPartners can onboard sub-merchants through APIs, with sub-merchants completing KYC on the partner's platform. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission. | YesRoute splits incoming payments among linked accounts. Since RBI's September 2025 rules, Route requires minimum turnover (over INR 40 lakh domestic or INR 5 lakh export) and a payer-payee transparency declaration. |
| Embeddable UI | YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users. | YesMerchant Onboarding UI: pre-built, brand-configurable components for onboarding sub-merchants (on request); Embedded Payments for platforms. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts. | YesRazorpayX payouts to bank accounts and UPI IDs in India (IMPS/RTGS/NEFT/UPI). Domestic Indian payouts only in the docs checked. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). RazorpayX current accounts are for the merchant itself, not for its users. |
| Cards for your users | YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). The RazorpayX Corporate Card is for the merchant's own spending. |
| Financing for your users | YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US. | PartlyRazorpay Capital runs an invite-only partner programme in which B2B businesses can refer their customers to Razorpay's Line of Credit. This is a referral, not an embedded lending API. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBusiness accounts only. | NoRazorpay's White Label Wallet (closed wallets for your customers) was discontinued in April 2023 and takes no new users. |
| Consumer cards | NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). Razorpay's India terms bar merchants from crypto activity. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | No stablecoin products |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones. | YesOfficial Razorpay MCP Server, hosted (remote) or self-hosted via Docker, with 35+ tools covering payments, orders, links, refunds, settlements and payouts. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol. | PartlyRazorpay Agentic Payments: in-app agentic checkout (live in beta), voice payments and in-chat purchases on LLM platforms. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | PartlyUPI Reserve Pay (live) lets AI agents pay within pre-approved spending limits. It is a UPI mandate, not a card. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and test environment. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 43 of 170 | 4 of 170 |
| Designed for | High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. | Businesses registered in India that need local methods such as UPI and netbanking, and foreign businesses that want to sell to Indian customers without an Indian entity. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses. | Full service is limited to India, Malaysia, Singapore and the US, and products differ sharply by market; most platform and banking features are India-only. |
Common questions
Is Adyen or Razorpay available in more countries?
Razorpay. Of the 170 countries we track, Adyen onboards businesses in 43 and Razorpay in 4 (and 161 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 43. Only Razorpay: Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, Saudi Arabia, Israel, Turkey, Egypt, Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa, Ghana and 110 more.
What do Adyen and Razorpay offer?
Accept payments: Adyen yes, Razorpay yes. Pay people abroad: Adyen yes, Razorpay yes. Multi-currency account: Adyen yes, Razorpay yes. Business cards: Adyen yes, Razorpay yes. Stablecoins: Adyen no, Razorpay no. Yield on idle cash: Adyen no, Razorpay no.
How do Adyen and Razorpay differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Accounts that hold money: Adyen partly, Razorpay not confirmed. Cards for your users: Adyen yes, Razorpay not confirmed. Financing for your users: Adyen yes, Razorpay partly. End users can be individuals: Adyen no, Razorpay not confirmed. Consumer cards: Adyen no, Razorpay not confirmed. Accept stablecoins: Adyen no, Razorpay not confirmed. Hold stablecoin balances: Adyen no, Razorpay not confirmed. Pay out in stablecoins: Adyen no, Razorpay not confirmed. Issue your own stablecoin: Adyen no, Razorpay not confirmed. Official MCP server: Adyen not confirmed, Razorpay yes. Checkout for AI agents: Adyen yes, Razorpay partly. Cards for AI agents: Adyen not confirmed, Razorpay partly.
Who is Adyen designed for?
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.
Who is Razorpay designed for?
Businesses registered in India that need local methods such as UPI and netbanking, and foreign businesses that want to sell to Indian customers without an Indian entity. Limitations: Full service is limited to India, Malaysia, Singapore and the US, and products differ sharply by market; most platform and banking features are India-only.
Related comparisons