Compare
Adyen vs Checkout.com
Only Checkout.com · 1
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Adyen
AvailableCheckout.com
AvailableAccept payments
Adyen
Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person.Checkout.com
Enterprise acquiring plus local methods such as mada, Bancontact and iDEAL.Pay people abroad
Adyen
Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms.Checkout.com
Card payouts and bank payouts to recipients in supported countries.Multi-currency account
Adyen
Business accounts for platform users in selected markets.Checkout.com
Not offeredBusiness cards
Adyen
Card issuing for platforms and businesses.Checkout.com
Card issuing for businesses and platforms.Stablecoins
Adyen
Not offeredCheckout.com
Stablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants.Yield on idle cash
Adyen
Not offeredCheckout.com
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Adyen
No yield offeredCheckout.com
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Adyen
–Checkout.com
–Does the rate change?
Adyen
–Checkout.com
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Adyen
Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees.Checkout.com
Checkout.com does not publish rates. Pricing is tailored per business, either fully flat-rate (set by business profile and risk category) or interchange++. It states no setup or account maintenance fees, and free processing for registered charities.Published prices
Adyen
Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly feesCheckout.com
Card pricing model (all): Not published. Tailored per business; flat-rate (priced on business profile and risk category) or interchange++Setup / account fees (all): No setup fees and no account maintenance feesCharities (countries where Checkout.com operates): Free payment processing for registered charitiesWhat you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Adyen
Not statedCheckout.com
Not statedCrypto
Adyen
RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services.Checkout.com
RestrictedVirtual currencies, including cryptocurrency exchanges, are restricted (extra due diligence). The Terms also require pre-approval. NFTs are restricted.Lending and financial services
Adyen
RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited.Checkout.com
RestrictedMoney transmitters, stored-value cards, securities/forex, escrow, debt and loan businesses, digital wallets and payment facilitators are restricted.Gambling
Adyen
RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited.Checkout.com
RestrictedGambling, gaming, games of skill and sweepstakes are restricted where operator and customers are located only in jurisdictions where they are legal.Adult content
Adyen
RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms.Checkout.com
Not allowedPornography and other obscene materials are prohibited.Dating
Adyen
RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited.Checkout.com
RestrictedDating services are restricted (pre-approval).Firearms and weapons
Adyen
Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited.Checkout.com
Not allowedWeapons, firearms and ammunition are prohibited.Cannabis and CBD
Adyen
RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Checkout.com
Not allowedCannabis and marijuana-related businesses are on the Declined Lines of Business Policy. CBD products need pre-approval (listed with highly regulated nutraceuticals), so CBD is restricted rather than prohibited.Supplements
Adyen
RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms).Checkout.com
RestrictedConflict resolved: for direct merchants, nutraceuticals and food supplements are restricted on the eligibility page and need pre-approval under the Terms.Pharmacy and telemedicine
Adyen
RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited.Checkout.com
RestrictedInternet pharmacies (including referral sites) and prescription drugs/devices are restricted. No telemedicine-specific rule found.Travel
Adyen
RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Checkout.com
RestrictedDelivery of future services (airlines, travel agencies, hotel bookings, event ticketing) needs pre-approval under the Terms. The eligibility page names travel and airlines only as credit-risk examples.Multi-level marketing
Adyen
Not statedCheckout.com
Not statedFree-trial subscriptions
Adyen
Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed.Checkout.com
RestrictedProducts or services sold through negative option marketing are restricted for direct merchants (pre-approval). The Regulated Platform AUP declines them for platform merchants.Platform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Adyen
YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC.Checkout.com
YesIntegrated Platforms onboards sub-entities with full or light checks.Split payments and platform fees
Adyen
YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission.Checkout.com
YesSplit payments between the platform and sub-entities.Embeddable UI
Adyen
YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users.Checkout.com
Not confirmedPayment UI components exist (Flow, Frames); embeddable onboarding components not confirmed.Pay out to your users
Adyen
YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts.Checkout.com
YesPayouts to sub-entities’ bank accounts or debit cards (card payouts on demand through Visa Direct and Mastercard).Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Adyen
PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development.Checkout.com
PartlySub-entity currency account balances, used to fund card spend. Not full bank accounts.Cards for your users
Adyen
YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US.Checkout.com
YesPlatforms can issue cards to the businesses or individuals under each sub-entity.Announced, not yet live: Card issuing in the UAEFinancing for your users
Adyen
YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US.Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Adyen
NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers.Checkout.com
PartlyCardholders under a sub-entity can be individuals, and consumer vs commercial is a card program setting.Consumer wallets or accounts
Adyen
NoBusiness accounts only.Checkout.com
NoBalances belong to sub-entities, not consumers.Consumer cards
Adyen
NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers.Checkout.com
PartlyConsumer card products can be configured for platform programs.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials.Hold stablecoin balances
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Checkout.com
PartlyStablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants.Pay out in stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials.Issue your own stablecoin
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Checkout.com
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Regulatory risk in United States
Adyen
No stablecoin productsCheckout.com
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Adyen
Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones.Checkout.com
YesOfficial MCP server in beta: payment status, refunds, voids, payment links and the docs, for tools like Claude Code and Cursor.Checkout for AI agents
Adyen
YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol.Checkout.com
YesSupports the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Google’s AP2 and Mastercard Agent Pay.Cards for AI agents
Adyen
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Adyen
PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team.Checkout.com
NoSales-led onboarding.Published pricing
Adyen
PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated.Checkout.com
NoPricing is negotiated.Public API and sandbox
Adyen
YesPublic API and test environment.Checkout.com
YesPublic API and sandbox.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
Adyen
Nothing announcedCheckout.com
In short
Countries onboarded
Adyen
43 of 170Checkout.com
37 of 170Designed for
Adyen
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions.Checkout.com
Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia.Limitations
Adyen
Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.Checkout.com
Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants.| Adyen Payment processor | Checkout.com Payment processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person. | Enterprise acquiring plus local methods such as mada, Bancontact and iDEAL. |
| Pay people abroad | Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms. | Card payouts and bank payouts to recipients in supported countries. |
| Multi-currency account | Business accounts for platform users in selected markets. | Not offered |
| Business cards | Card issuing for platforms and businesses. | Card issuing for businesses and platforms. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Stablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants. |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees. | Checkout.com does not publish rates. Pricing is tailored per business, either fully flat-rate (set by business profile and risk category) or interchange++. It states no setup or account maintenance fees, and free processing for registered charities. |
| Published prices | Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly fees | Card pricing model (all): Not published. Tailored per business; flat-rate (priced on business profile and risk category) or interchange++Setup / account fees (all): No setup fees and no account maintenance feesCharities (countries where Checkout.com operates): Free payment processing for registered charities |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not stated |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services. | RestrictedVirtual currencies, including cryptocurrency exchanges, are restricted (extra due diligence). The Terms also require pre-approval. NFTs are restricted. |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited. | RestrictedMoney transmitters, stored-value cards, securities/forex, escrow, debt and loan businesses, digital wallets and payment facilitators are restricted. |
| Gambling | RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited. | RestrictedGambling, gaming, games of skill and sweepstakes are restricted where operator and customers are located only in jurisdictions where they are legal. |
| Adult content | RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. | Not allowedPornography and other obscene materials are prohibited. |
| Dating | RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited. | RestrictedDating services are restricted (pre-approval). |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited. | Not allowedWeapons, firearms and ammunition are prohibited. |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not allowedCannabis and marijuana-related businesses are on the Declined Lines of Business Policy. CBD products need pre-approval (listed with highly regulated nutraceuticals), so CBD is restricted rather than prohibited. |
| Supplements | RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms). | RestrictedConflict resolved: for direct merchants, nutraceuticals and food supplements are restricted on the eligibility page and need pre-approval under the Terms. |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited. | RestrictedInternet pharmacies (including referral sites) and prescription drugs/devices are restricted. No telemedicine-specific rule found. |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | RestrictedDelivery of future services (airlines, travel agencies, hotel bookings, event ticketing) needs pre-approval under the Terms. The eligibility page names travel and airlines only as credit-risk examples. |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed. | RestrictedProducts or services sold through negative option marketing are restricted for direct merchants (pre-approval). The Regulated Platform AUP declines them for platform merchants. |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC. | YesIntegrated Platforms onboards sub-entities with full or light checks. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission. | YesSplit payments between the platform and sub-entities. |
| Embeddable UI | YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users. | Not confirmedPayment UI components exist (Flow, Frames); embeddable onboarding components not confirmed. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts. | YesPayouts to sub-entities’ bank accounts or debit cards (card payouts on demand through Visa Direct and Mastercard). |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development. | PartlySub-entity currency account balances, used to fund card spend. Not full bank accounts. |
| Cards for your users | YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US. | YesPlatforms can issue cards to the businesses or individuals under each sub-entity.Announced, not yet live: Card issuing in the UAE |
| Financing for your users | YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers. | PartlyCardholders under a sub-entity can be individuals, and consumer vs commercial is a card program setting. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBusiness accounts only. | NoBalances belong to sub-entities, not consumers. |
| Consumer cards | NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers. | PartlyConsumer card products can be configured for platform programs. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | PartlyStablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones. | YesOfficial MCP server in beta: payment status, refunds, voids, payment links and the docs, for tools like Claude Code and Cursor. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol. | YesSupports the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Google’s AP2 and Mastercard Agent Pay. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team. | NoSales-led onboarding. |
| Published pricing | PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated. | NoPricing is negotiated. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and test environment. | YesPublic API and sandbox. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Nothing announced | Awaiting approvalIts own US acquiring bankExpected by the end of 2026 · Includes United States Awaiting approvalCard issuing in the UAENo date given Details and sources → |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 43 of 170 | 37 of 170 |
| Designed for | High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. | Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses. | Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants. |
Common questions
Is Adyen or Checkout.com available in more countries?
Adyen. Of the 170 countries we track, Adyen onboards businesses in 43 and Checkout.com in 37 (and 1 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 37. Only Adyen: Canada, Mexico, Brazil, India, Malaysia and New Zealand. Only Checkout.com: Saudi Arabia.
What do Adyen and Checkout.com offer?
Accept payments: Adyen yes, Checkout.com yes. Pay people abroad: Adyen yes, Checkout.com yes. Multi-currency account: Adyen yes, Checkout.com no. Business cards: Adyen yes, Checkout.com yes. Stablecoins: Adyen no, Checkout.com yes. Yield on idle cash: Adyen no, Checkout.com no.
How do Adyen and Checkout.com differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Embeddable UI: Adyen yes, Checkout.com not confirmed. Financing for your users: Adyen yes, Checkout.com not confirmed. End users can be individuals: Adyen no, Checkout.com partly. Consumer cards: Adyen no, Checkout.com partly. Accept stablecoins: Adyen no, Checkout.com not confirmed. Hold stablecoin balances: Adyen no, Checkout.com partly. Pay out in stablecoins: Adyen no, Checkout.com not confirmed. Official MCP server: Adyen not confirmed, Checkout.com yes.
Who is Adyen designed for?
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.
Who is Checkout.com designed for?
Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants.
Related comparisons