Compare
PayPal vs BVNK
Only BVNK · 3
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
PayPal
AvailableBVNK
AvailableAccept payments
PayPal
PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection.BVNK
Accept stablecoin payments, kept as stablecoins or converted to fiat.Pay people abroad
PayPal
Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet.BVNK
Stablecoin and fiat payouts, including instant euro payments over SEPA.Multi-currency account
PayPal
Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account.BVNK
Virtual accounts and embedded wallets for your customers.Business cards
PayPal
PayPal Business Debit Mastercard.BVNK
Not offeredStablecoins
PayPal
US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).BVNK
Pay-ins, payouts, FX and wallets across major chains, plus a self-custody product.Yield on idle cash
PayPal
US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York.BVNK
BVNK Earn pays a return on idle stablecoin balances. BVNK does not clearly say how the return is generated; earlier versions of the product lent assets to prime brokers.Yield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
PayPal
Moderate riskStablecoin rewardsBVNK
Source not disclosedSource not disclosedIs the money protected?
PayPal
Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly.BVNK
The provider does not clearly say how the return is generated. Ask before relying on it: a return always comes from someone taking a risk.Does the rate change?
PayPal
Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026)BVNK
Not published.Last seen: Not publishedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
PayPal
YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses.BVNK
YesEmbedded partner customers: you collect KYC or KYB in your own flow, send it to BVNK’s API, and BVNK reviews and activates the account.Split payments and platform fees
PayPal
YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow.BVNK
NoNot a card payment processor.Embeddable UI
PayPal
PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow.BVNK
NoAPI-first; you build the onboarding screens.Pay out to your users
PayPal
YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts.BVNK
YesStablecoin and fiat payouts, including instant euro payments over SEPA.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
PayPal
NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users.BVNK
YesVirtual accounts and embedded wallets that customers can hold and receive money in.Cards for your users
PayPal
NoNo card issuing for platform users.BVNK
PartlyStablecoin card programs through partners such as Marqeta.Financing for your users
PayPal
NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms.BVNK
NoNot offered.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
PayPal
PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users.BVNK
YesEmbedded wallets added individual users in September 2026, in early access. Some older guides still describe the product as business-only.Consumer wallets or accounts
PayPal
NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet.BVNK
YesEmbedded wallets for individuals, in early access.Consumer cards
PayPal
NoNot offered to platforms.BVNK
PartlyThrough card-issuing partners.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
PayPal
PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars.BVNK
YesStablecoin pay-ins, kept as stablecoins or converted to fiat.Hold stablecoin balances
PayPal
PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).BVNK
YesHold stablecoin balances in wallets.Pay out in stablecoins
PayPal
Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts.BVNK
YesStablecoin payouts across major chains, including Stellar.Issue your own stablecoin
PayPal
NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one.BVNK
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Regulatory risk in United States
PayPal
Low riskBVNK
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
PayPal
YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts.BVNK
Not confirmedNone found.Checkout for AI agents
PayPal
YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration.BVNK
Not confirmedNo agent checkout protocol support confirmed.Cards for AI agents
PayPal
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.BVNK
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
PayPal
YesSign up online.BVNK
NoEmbedded products are switched on by an account manager after compliance review.Published pricing
PayPal
YesMerchant fees are published by country.BVNK
NoPricing is not published.Public API and sandbox
PayPal
YesPublic REST API and sandbox.BVNK
YesDocumented API with sandbox and production environments.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
PayPal
BVNK
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
PayPal
59 of 170BVNK
31 of 170Designed for
PayPal
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers.BVNK
Payment and fintech companies adding stablecoin pay-ins, payouts and wallets, with US and EU licensing in place.Limitations
PayPal
PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.BVNK
Embedded products are switched on by an account manager, and some, such as wallets for individuals, are in early access.| PayPal Payment processor | BVNK Stablecoin infrastructure | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection. | Accept stablecoin payments, kept as stablecoins or converted to fiat. |
| Pay people abroad | Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet. | Stablecoin and fiat payouts, including instant euro payments over SEPA. |
| Multi-currency account | Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account. | Virtual accounts and embedded wallets for your customers. |
| Business cards | PayPal Business Debit Mastercard. | Not offered |
| Stablecoins | US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | Pay-ins, payouts, FX and wallets across major chains, plus a self-custody product. |
| Yield on idle cash | US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York. | BVNK Earn pays a return on idle stablecoin balances. BVNK does not clearly say how the return is generated; earlier versions of the product lent assets to prime brokers. |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | Moderate riskStablecoin rewards | Source not disclosedSource not disclosed |
| Is the money protected? | Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly. | The provider does not clearly say how the return is generated. Ask before relying on it: a return always comes from someone taking a risk. |
| Does the rate change? | Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026) | Not published.Last seen: Not published |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses. | YesEmbedded partner customers: you collect KYC or KYB in your own flow, send it to BVNK’s API, and BVNK reviews and activates the account. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow. | NoNot a card payment processor. |
| Embeddable UI | PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow. | NoAPI-first; you build the onboarding screens. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts. | YesStablecoin and fiat payouts, including instant euro payments over SEPA. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users. | YesVirtual accounts and embedded wallets that customers can hold and receive money in. |
| Cards for your users | NoNo card issuing for platform users. | PartlyStablecoin card programs through partners such as Marqeta. |
| Financing for your users | NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms. | NoNot offered. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users. | YesEmbedded wallets added individual users in September 2026, in early access. Some older guides still describe the product as business-only. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet. | YesEmbedded wallets for individuals, in early access. |
| Consumer cards | NoNot offered to platforms. | PartlyThrough card-issuing partners. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars. | YesStablecoin pay-ins, kept as stablecoins or converted to fiat. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | YesHold stablecoin balances in wallets. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts. | YesStablecoin payouts across major chains, including Stellar. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one. | Not confirmedNot confirmed. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | Low risk | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts. | Not confirmedNone found. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration. | Not confirmedNo agent checkout protocol support confirmed. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | YesSign up online. | NoEmbedded products are switched on by an account manager after compliance review. |
| Published pricing | YesMerchant fees are published by country. | NoPricing is not published. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic REST API and sandbox. | YesDocumented API with sandbox and production environments. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Awaiting approvalPayPal Bank in the USNo date given · Includes United States Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 59 of 170 | 31 of 170 |
| Designed for | Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. | Payment and fintech companies adding stablecoin pay-ins, payouts and wallets, with US and EU licensing in place. |
| Limitations | PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales. | Embedded products are switched on by an account manager, and some, such as wallets for individuals, are in early access. |
Common questions
Is PayPal or BVNK available in more countries?
BVNK. Of the 170 countries we track, PayPal onboards businesses in 59 (and 3 more with limits) and BVNK in 31 (and 34 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 62. Only BVNK: Turkey, Pakistan and Bangladesh.
What do PayPal and BVNK offer?
Accept payments: PayPal yes, BVNK yes. Pay people abroad: PayPal yes, BVNK yes. Multi-currency account: PayPal yes, BVNK yes. Business cards: PayPal yes, BVNK no. Stablecoins: PayPal yes, BVNK yes. Yield on idle cash: PayPal yes, BVNK yes.
How do PayPal and BVNK differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Split payments and platform fees: PayPal yes, BVNK no. Embeddable UI: PayPal partly, BVNK no. Accounts that hold money: PayPal no, BVNK yes. Cards for your users: PayPal no, BVNK partly. End users can be individuals: PayPal partly, BVNK yes. Consumer wallets or accounts: PayPal no, BVNK yes. Consumer cards: PayPal no, BVNK partly. Accept stablecoins: PayPal partly, BVNK yes. Hold stablecoin balances: PayPal partly, BVNK yes. Pay out in stablecoins: PayPal not confirmed, BVNK yes. Issue your own stablecoin: PayPal no, BVNK not confirmed. Official MCP server: PayPal yes, BVNK not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: PayPal yes, BVNK not confirmed.
Who is PayPal designed for?
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. Limitations: PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.
Who is BVNK designed for?
Payment and fintech companies adding stablecoin pay-ins, payouts and wallets, with US and EU licensing in place. Limitations: Embedded products are switched on by an account manager, and some, such as wallets for individuals, are in early access.
Related comparisons