Compare
PayPal vs Flutterwave
Only Flutterwave · 72
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
PayPal
AvailableFlutterwave
AvailableAccept payments
PayPal
PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection.Flutterwave
Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies.Pay people abroad
PayPal
Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet.Flutterwave
Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default.Multi-currency account
PayPal
Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account.Flutterwave
Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account.Business cards
PayPal
PayPal Business Debit Mastercard.Flutterwave
Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated.Stablecoins
PayPal
US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Flutterwave
Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon.Yield on idle cash
PayPal
US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York.Flutterwave
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
PayPal
Moderate riskStablecoin rewardsFlutterwave
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
PayPal
Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly.Flutterwave
–Does the rate change?
PayPal
Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026)Flutterwave
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
PayPal
PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPublished prices
PayPal
PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkoutFlutterwave
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
PayPal
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedCrypto
PayPal
RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
PayPal
RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedGambling
PayPal
RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedAdult content
PayPal
RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedDating
PayPal
RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
PayPal
Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
PayPal
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedSupplements
PayPal
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
PayPal
RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedTravel
PayPal
RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
PayPal
RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
PayPal
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
PayPal
YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses.Flutterwave
PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds.Split payments and platform fees
PayPal
YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow.Flutterwave
YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount.Embeddable UI
PayPal
PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow.Flutterwave
PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found.Pay out to your users
PayPal
YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts.Flutterwave
YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
PayPal
NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found.Cards for your users
PayPal
NoNo card issuing for platform users.Flutterwave
YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees.Financing for your users
PayPal
NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms.Flutterwave
Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
PayPal
PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented.Consumer wallets or accounts
PayPal
NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet.Flutterwave
PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts).Consumer cards
PayPal
NoNot offered to platforms.Flutterwave
PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
PayPal
PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars.Flutterwave
PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found.Hold stablecoin balances
PayPal
PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Flutterwave
YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances.Pay out in stablecoins
PayPal
Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts.Flutterwave
YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported.Issue your own stablecoin
PayPal
NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Regulatory risk in United States
PayPal
Low riskFlutterwave
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
PayPal
YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official.Checkout for AI agents
PayPal
YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Cards for AI agents
PayPal
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
PayPal
YesSign up online.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
PayPal
YesMerchant fees are published by country.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
PayPal
YesPublic REST API and sandbox.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
PayPal
Flutterwave
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
PayPal
91 of 170Flutterwave
12 of 170Designed for
PayPal
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers.Flutterwave
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account.Limitations
PayPal
PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.Flutterwave
Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.| PayPal Payment processor | Flutterwave Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection. | Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet. | Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default. |
| Multi-currency account | Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account. | Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account. |
| Business cards | PayPal Business Debit Mastercard. | Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated. |
| Stablecoins | US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. |
| Yield on idle cash | US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York. | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | Moderate riskStablecoin rewards | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly. | – |
| Does the rate change? | Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026) | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkout | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses. | PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow. | YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount. |
| Embeddable UI | PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow. | PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts. | YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users. | PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found. |
| Cards for your users | NoNo card issuing for platform users. | YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees. |
| Financing for your users | NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms. | Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users. | PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet. | PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts). |
| Consumer cards | NoNot offered to platforms. | PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars. | PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts. | YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Regulatory risk in United States | Low risk | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts. | Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | YesSign up online. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | YesMerchant fees are published by country. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic REST API and sandbox. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Awaiting approvalPayPal Bank in the USNo date given · Includes United States Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 91 of 170 | 12 of 170 |
| Designed for | Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. | Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. |
| Limitations | PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales. | Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use. |
Common questions
Is PayPal or Flutterwave available in more countries?
Flutterwave. Of the 170 countries we track, PayPal onboards businesses in 91 (and 2 more with limits) and Flutterwave in 12 (and 153 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 93. Only Flutterwave: Turkey, Nigeria, Ghana, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Guyana, Haiti, Paraguay, Suriname, Armenia, Azerbaijan and 60 more.
What do PayPal and Flutterwave offer?
Accept payments: PayPal yes, Flutterwave yes. Pay people abroad: PayPal yes, Flutterwave yes. Multi-currency account: PayPal yes, Flutterwave yes. Business cards: PayPal yes, Flutterwave yes. Stablecoins: PayPal yes, Flutterwave yes. Yield on idle cash: PayPal yes, Flutterwave no.
How do PayPal and Flutterwave differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Sub-accounts for your users: PayPal yes, Flutterwave partly. Accounts that hold money: PayPal no, Flutterwave partly. Cards for your users: PayPal no, Flutterwave yes. Financing for your users: PayPal no, Flutterwave not confirmed. Consumer wallets or accounts: PayPal no, Flutterwave partly. Consumer cards: PayPal no, Flutterwave partly. Hold stablecoin balances: PayPal partly, Flutterwave yes. Pay out in stablecoins: PayPal not confirmed, Flutterwave yes. Issue your own stablecoin: PayPal no, Flutterwave not confirmed. Official MCP server: PayPal yes, Flutterwave not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: PayPal yes, Flutterwave not confirmed.
Who is PayPal designed for?
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. Limitations: PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.
Who is Flutterwave designed for?
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. Limitations: Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.
Related comparisons