Compare
PayPal vs Razorpay
Only Razorpay · 72
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
PayPal
AvailableRazorpay
AvailableAccept payments
PayPal
PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection.Razorpay
Payment gateway, payment links, payment pages, subscriptions, QR codes and POS. In India it supports cards, netbanking, UPI, wallets, EMI and Pay Later; Malaysia (Curlec) adds FPX, DuitNow and others; Singapore and US offer cards, wallets, PayNow (SG) and ACH (US). Non-Indian businesses can also collect from Indian customers.Pay people abroad
PayPal
Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet.Razorpay
RazorpayX payouts to contacts in India via IMPS, RTGS, NEFT or UPI from a RazorpayX current account; also vendor and salary payouts. Razorpay Curlec in Malaysia also lists payouts. Cross-border payouts are not documented as a general product.Not for businesses in United States.Multi-currency account
PayPal
Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account.Razorpay
RazorpayX current accounts for Indian businesses, provided by partner banks (ICICI, RBL, Yes Bank); RazorpayX is not a bank.Not for businesses in United States.Business cards
PayPal
PayPal Business Debit Mastercard.Razorpay
RazorpayX Corporate Card (Visa corporate credit card issued by RBI-licensed partner banks) for Indian businesses.Not for businesses in United States.Stablecoins
PayPal
US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Razorpay
Not offeredYield on idle cash
PayPal
US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York.Razorpay
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
PayPal
Moderate riskStablecoin rewardsRazorpay
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
PayPal
Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly.Razorpay
–Does the rate change?
PayPal
Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026)Razorpay
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
PayPal
PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12.Razorpay
Not yet researchedPublished prices
PayPal
PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkoutRazorpay
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
PayPal
Not statedRazorpay
Not yet researchedCrypto
PayPal
RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval.Razorpay
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
PayPal
RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedGambling
PayPal
RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal.Razorpay
Not yet researchedAdult content
PayPal
RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedDating
PayPal
RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval.Razorpay
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
PayPal
Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
PayPal
Not statedRazorpay
Not yet researchedSupplements
PayPal
Not statedRazorpay
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
PayPal
RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval.Razorpay
Not yet researchedTravel
PayPal
RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned.Razorpay
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
PayPal
RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited.Razorpay
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
PayPal
Not statedRazorpay
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
PayPal
YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses.Razorpay
YesPartners can onboard sub-merchants through APIs, with sub-merchants completing KYC on the partner's platform.Split payments and platform fees
PayPal
YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow.Razorpay
YesRoute splits incoming payments among linked accounts. Since RBI's September 2025 rules, Route requires minimum turnover (over INR 40 lakh domestic or INR 5 lakh export) and a payer-payee transparency declaration.Embeddable UI
PayPal
PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow.Razorpay
YesMerchant Onboarding UI: pre-built, brand-configurable components for onboarding sub-merchants (on request); Embedded Payments for platforms.Pay out to your users
PayPal
YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts.Razorpay
YesRazorpayX payouts to bank accounts and UPI IDs in India (IMPS/RTGS/NEFT/UPI). Domestic Indian payouts only in the docs checked.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
PayPal
NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). RazorpayX current accounts are for the merchant itself, not for its users.Cards for your users
PayPal
NoNo card issuing for platform users.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). The RazorpayX Corporate Card is for the merchant's own spending.Financing for your users
PayPal
NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms.Razorpay
PartlyRazorpay Capital runs an invite-only partner programme in which B2B businesses can refer their customers to Razorpay's Line of Credit. This is a referral, not an embedded lending API.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
PayPal
PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Consumer wallets or accounts
PayPal
NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet.Razorpay
NoRazorpay's White Label Wallet (closed wallets for your customers) was discontinued in April 2023 and takes no new users.Consumer cards
PayPal
NoNot offered to platforms.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
PayPal
PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). Razorpay's India terms bar merchants from crypto activity.Hold stablecoin balances
PayPal
PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD).Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Pay out in stablecoins
PayPal
Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Issue your own stablecoin
PayPal
NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Regulatory risk in United States
PayPal
Low riskRazorpay
No stablecoin productsAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
PayPal
YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts.Razorpay
YesOfficial Razorpay MCP Server, hosted (remote) or self-hosted via Docker, with 35+ tools covering payments, orders, links, refunds, settlements and payouts.Checkout for AI agents
PayPal
YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration.Razorpay
PartlyRazorpay Agentic Payments: in-app agentic checkout (live in beta), voice payments and in-chat purchases on LLM platforms.Cards for AI agents
PayPal
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Razorpay
PartlyUPI Reserve Pay (live) lets AI agents pay within pre-approved spending limits. It is a UPI mandate, not a card.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
PayPal
YesSign up online.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
PayPal
YesMerchant fees are published by country.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
PayPal
YesPublic REST API and sandbox.Razorpay
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
PayPal
Razorpay
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
PayPal
91 of 170Razorpay
4 of 170Designed for
PayPal
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers.Razorpay
Businesses registered in India that need local methods such as UPI and netbanking, and foreign businesses that want to sell to Indian customers without an Indian entity.Limitations
PayPal
PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.Razorpay
Full service is limited to India, Malaysia, Singapore and the US, and products differ sharply by market; most platform and banking features are India-only.| PayPal Payment processor | Razorpay Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | PayPal wallet, cards and (in the US) Venmo at checkout, with buyer and seller protection. | Payment gateway, payment links, payment pages, subscriptions, QR codes and POS. In India it supports cards, netbanking, UPI, wallets, EMI and Pay Later; Malaysia (Curlec) adds FPX, DuitNow and others; Singapore and US offer cards, wallets, PayNow (SG) and ACH (US). Non-Indian businesses can also collect from Indian customers. |
| Pay people abroad | Mass payouts to PayPal and Venmo accounts worldwide. Bank payouts go through Hyperwallet. | RazorpayX payouts to contacts in India via IMPS, RTGS, NEFT or UPI from a RazorpayX current account; also vendor and salary payouts. Razorpay Curlec in Malaysia also lists payouts. Cross-border payouts are not documented as a general product.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Multi-currency account | Hold balances in 20+ currencies inside a PayPal business account. | RazorpayX current accounts for Indian businesses, provided by partner banks (ICICI, RBL, Yes Bank); RazorpayX is not a bank.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Business cards | PayPal Business Debit Mastercard. | RazorpayX Corporate Card (Visa corporate credit card issued by RBI-licensed partner banks) for Indian businesses.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Stablecoins | US businesses can accept crypto through Pay with Crypto and hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cash | US businesses holding PayPal USD (PYUSD) in their PayPal balance can opt in to rewards of around 3.7–4% a year, funded from the stablecoin’s reserve interest. Not available in New York. | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | Moderate riskStablecoin rewards | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | Stablecoins are not bank deposits and are not insured. The reward is a promotion funded by the issuer’s reserve interest; it can be changed or stopped, and US law bars issuers from paying interest directly. | – |
| Does the rate change? | Set by the provider; tends to follow US Treasury rates.Last seen: Around 3.7–4% a year (2026) | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | PayPal publishes per-market fee pages (both last updated 1 October 2026). US: 3.49% + 0.49 USD for PayPal Checkout, 2.99% + 0.49 USD for standard card payments, and 2.89% + 0.29 USD for Advanced Credit and Debit Card Payments (or interchange + 0.49% + 0.39 USD). International payments add 1.50%, currency conversion has a 3.00% spread, a chargeback costs $20 and a standard dispute $15. Fees are not returned on refunds. UK: 2.9% + 0.30 GBP standard rate (1.2% for card payers without a PayPal account), and Advanced card payments at 1.2% + 0.20 GBP (Amex 3.5%). International payments add 1.29% (EEA) or 1.99% (elsewhere). A chargeback costs £14 and a standard dispute £12. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | PayPal Checkout (US): 3.49% + fixed feeStandard credit and debit card payments (US): 2.99% + fixed feeFixed fee (USD) (US): 0.49 USD per commercial transaction received in USDInternational commercial transactions (US): +1.50% on top of the domestic rateCurrency conversion (US): 3.00% spread for most transactions (4.00% for some, e.g. Payouts in another currency)Chargeback fee (US): 20.00 USD per card chargeback on transactions not processed through a PayPal account or guest checkout | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency, virtual in-game currencies and NFTs require pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney service businesses, e-money, stored value, escrow and investments require pre-approval. Traveler's checks, money orders, currency exchange, check cashing, certain credit repair, debt settlement and credit transactions, and payment processors collecting for merchants are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedGambling, gaming, prize draws and contests require pre-approval and are allowed only where operator and customers are in jurisdictions where they are legal. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | RestrictedDigitally delivered adult content (VOD, webcam) requires pre-approval. 'Certain sexually oriented materials or services' and obscene items are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedOnline dating requires pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedAmmunition, firearms, certain firearm parts and certain regulated weapons or knives are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPrescription items, telemedicine and medical devices/services require pre-approval. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedAirlines and charter/air taxi operators require pre-approval. Other travel businesses (agencies, tours) are not mentioned. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | RestrictedMulti-level marketing and direct selling require pre-approval; pyramid/Ponzi schemes and 'certain multi-level marketing programs' are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesPayPal Complete Payments onboards sellers into their own PayPal business accounts. Braintree Marketplace creates sub-merchants, but only for US businesses. | YesPartners can onboard sub-merchants through APIs, with sub-merchants completing KYC on the partner's platform. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesPlatform fees on seller payments; Braintree Marketplace splits each transaction and can hold funds in escrow. | YesRoute splits incoming payments among linked accounts. Since RBI's September 2025 rules, Route requires minimum turnover (over INR 40 lakh domestic or INR 5 lakh export) and a payer-payee transparency declaration. |
| Embeddable UI | PartlySeller onboarding is a PayPal-hosted flow. | YesMerchant Onboarding UI: pre-built, brand-configurable components for onboarding sub-merchants (on request); Embedded Payments for platforms. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts API to PayPal and Venmo accounts; Hyperwallet for bank, card and cash payouts. | YesRazorpayX payouts to bank accounts and UPI IDs in India (IMPS/RTGS/NEFT/UPI). Domestic Indian payouts only in the docs checked. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | NoSellers hold their own PayPal accounts; platforms cannot create accounts that hold money for users. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). RazorpayX current accounts are for the merchant itself, not for its users. |
| Cards for your users | NoNo card issuing for platform users. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). The RazorpayX Corporate Card is for the merchant's own spending. |
| Financing for your users | NoPayPal’s business loans are offered directly by PayPal, not through platforms. | PartlyRazorpay Capital runs an invite-only partner programme in which B2B businesses can refer their customers to Razorpay's Line of Credit. This is a referral, not an embedded lending API. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | PartlyYou can pay individuals’ PayPal and Venmo accounts, but not build wallets or accounts for your own users. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoConsumers use PayPal’s own wallet. | NoRazorpay's White Label Wallet (closed wallets for your customers) was discontinued in April 2023 and takes no new users. |
| Consumer cards | NoNot offered to platforms. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | PartlyPay with Crypto lets US merchants accept crypto, settled in dollars. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). Razorpay's India terms bar merchants from crypto activity. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | PartlyUS accounts can hold PayPal USD (PYUSD). | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Pay out in stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed for platform payouts. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoPYUSD is PayPal’s own coin; you cannot issue one. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Regulatory risk in United States | Low risk | No stablecoin products |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesAgent tooling for its APIs, and backing WebMCP so agents can use merchants’ existing storefronts. | YesOfficial Razorpay MCP Server, hosted (remote) or self-hosted via Docker, with 35+ tools covering payments, orders, links, refunds, settlements and payouts. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesAdopted the Agentic Commerce Protocol for Instant Checkout in ChatGPT, rolling out in 2026, so PayPal merchants can sell in ChatGPT without their own integration. | PartlyRazorpay Agentic Payments: in-app agentic checkout (live in beta), voice payments and in-chat purchases on LLM platforms. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | PartlyUPI Reserve Pay (live) lets AI agents pay within pre-approved spending limits. It is a UPI mandate, not a card. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | YesSign up online. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | YesMerchant fees are published by country. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic REST API and sandbox. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Awaiting approvalPayPal Bank in the USNo date given · Includes United States Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 91 of 170 | 4 of 170 |
| Designed for | Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. | Businesses registered in India that need local methods such as UPI and netbanking, and foreign businesses that want to sell to Indian customers without an Indian entity. |
| Limitations | PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales. | Full service is limited to India, Malaysia, Singapore and the US, and products differ sharply by market; most platform and banking features are India-only. |
Common questions
Is PayPal or Razorpay available in more countries?
Razorpay. Of the 170 countries we track, PayPal onboards businesses in 91 (and 2 more with limits) and Razorpay in 4 (and 161 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 93. Only Razorpay: Turkey, Nigeria, Ghana, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Guyana, Haiti, Paraguay, Suriname, Armenia, Azerbaijan and 60 more.
What do PayPal and Razorpay offer?
Accept payments: PayPal yes, Razorpay yes. Pay people abroad: PayPal yes, Razorpay yes. Multi-currency account: PayPal yes, Razorpay yes. Business cards: PayPal yes, Razorpay yes. Stablecoins: PayPal yes, Razorpay no. Yield on idle cash: PayPal yes, Razorpay no.
How do PayPal and Razorpay differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Embeddable UI: PayPal partly, Razorpay yes. Accounts that hold money: PayPal no, Razorpay not confirmed. Cards for your users: PayPal no, Razorpay not confirmed. Financing for your users: PayPal no, Razorpay partly. End users can be individuals: PayPal partly, Razorpay not confirmed. Consumer cards: PayPal no, Razorpay not confirmed. Accept stablecoins: PayPal partly, Razorpay not confirmed. Hold stablecoin balances: PayPal partly, Razorpay not confirmed. Issue your own stablecoin: PayPal no, Razorpay not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: PayPal yes, Razorpay partly. Cards for AI agents: PayPal not confirmed, Razorpay partly.
Who is PayPal designed for?
Selling to customers who already pay with PayPal, including cross-border buyers. Limitations: PayPal’s terms allow it to hold payments or set reserves, for example on new accounts or after a sudden rise in sales.
Who is Razorpay designed for?
Businesses registered in India that need local methods such as UPI and netbanking, and foreign businesses that want to sell to Indian customers without an Indian entity. Limitations: Full service is limited to India, Malaysia, Singapore and the US, and products differ sharply by market; most platform and banking features are India-only.
Related comparisons