Compare
Checkout.com vs Flutterwave
Only Flutterwave · 127
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Checkout.com
AvailableFlutterwave
AvailableAccept payments
Checkout.com
Enterprise acquiring plus local methods such as mada, Bancontact and iDEAL.Flutterwave
Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies.Pay people abroad
Checkout.com
Card payouts and bank payouts to recipients in supported countries.Flutterwave
Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default.Multi-currency account
Checkout.com
Not offeredFlutterwave
Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account.Business cards
Checkout.com
Card issuing for businesses and platforms.Flutterwave
Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated.Stablecoins
Checkout.com
Stablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants.Flutterwave
Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon.Yield on idle cash
Checkout.com
Not offeredFlutterwave
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Checkout.com
No yield offeredFlutterwave
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Checkout.com
–Flutterwave
–Does the rate change?
Checkout.com
–Flutterwave
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Checkout.com
Checkout.com does not publish rates. Pricing is tailored per business, either fully flat-rate (set by business profile and risk category) or interchange++. It states no setup or account maintenance fees, and free processing for registered charities.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPublished prices
Checkout.com
Card pricing model (all): Not published. Tailored per business; flat-rate (priced on business profile and risk category) or interchange++Setup / account fees (all): No setup fees and no account maintenance feesCharities (countries where Checkout.com operates): Free payment processing for registered charitiesFlutterwave
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Checkout.com
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedCrypto
Checkout.com
RestrictedVirtual currencies, including cryptocurrency exchanges, are restricted (extra due diligence). The Terms also require pre-approval. NFTs are restricted.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
Checkout.com
RestrictedMoney transmitters, stored-value cards, securities/forex, escrow, debt and loan businesses, digital wallets and payment facilitators are restricted.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedGambling
Checkout.com
RestrictedGambling, gaming, games of skill and sweepstakes are restricted where operator and customers are located only in jurisdictions where they are legal.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedAdult content
Checkout.com
Not allowedPornography and other obscene materials are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedDating
Checkout.com
RestrictedDating services are restricted (pre-approval).Flutterwave
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
Checkout.com
Not allowedWeapons, firearms and ammunition are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
Checkout.com
Not allowedCannabis and marijuana-related businesses are on the Declined Lines of Business Policy. CBD products need pre-approval (listed with highly regulated nutraceuticals), so CBD is restricted rather than prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedSupplements
Checkout.com
RestrictedConflict resolved: for direct merchants, nutraceuticals and food supplements are restricted on the eligibility page and need pre-approval under the Terms.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
Checkout.com
RestrictedInternet pharmacies (including referral sites) and prescription drugs/devices are restricted. No telemedicine-specific rule found.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedTravel
Checkout.com
RestrictedDelivery of future services (airlines, travel agencies, hotel bookings, event ticketing) needs pre-approval under the Terms. The eligibility page names travel and airlines only as credit-risk examples.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
Checkout.com
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
Checkout.com
RestrictedProducts or services sold through negative option marketing are restricted for direct merchants (pre-approval). The Regulated Platform AUP declines them for platform merchants.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Checkout.com
YesIntegrated Platforms onboards sub-entities with full or light checks.Flutterwave
PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds.Split payments and platform fees
Checkout.com
YesSplit payments between the platform and sub-entities.Flutterwave
YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount.Embeddable UI
Checkout.com
Not confirmedPayment UI components exist (Flow, Frames); embeddable onboarding components not confirmed.Flutterwave
PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found.Pay out to your users
Checkout.com
YesPayouts to sub-entities’ bank accounts or debit cards (card payouts on demand through Visa Direct and Mastercard).Flutterwave
YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Checkout.com
PartlySub-entity currency account balances, used to fund card spend. Not full bank accounts.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found.Cards for your users
Checkout.com
YesPlatforms can issue cards to the businesses or individuals under each sub-entity.Announced, not yet live: Card issuing in the UAEFlutterwave
YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees.Financing for your users
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Checkout.com
PartlyCardholders under a sub-entity can be individuals, and consumer vs commercial is a card program setting.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented.Consumer wallets or accounts
Checkout.com
NoBalances belong to sub-entities, not consumers.Flutterwave
PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts).Consumer cards
Checkout.com
PartlyConsumer card products can be configured for platform programs.Flutterwave
PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials.Flutterwave
PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found.Hold stablecoin balances
Checkout.com
PartlyStablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants.Flutterwave
YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances.Pay out in stablecoins
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials.Flutterwave
YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported.Issue your own stablecoin
Checkout.com
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Regulatory risk in United States
Checkout.com
Low riskFlutterwave
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Checkout.com
YesOfficial MCP server in beta: payment status, refunds, voids, payment links and the docs, for tools like Claude Code and Cursor.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official.Checkout for AI agents
Checkout.com
YesSupports the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Google’s AP2 and Mastercard Agent Pay.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Cards for AI agents
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Checkout.com
NoSales-led onboarding.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Checkout.com
NoPricing is negotiated.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Checkout.com
YesPublic API and sandbox.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
Checkout.com
Flutterwave
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
Checkout.com
37 of 170Flutterwave
12 of 170Designed for
Checkout.com
Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia.Flutterwave
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account.Limitations
Checkout.com
Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants.Flutterwave
Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.| Checkout.com Payment processor | Flutterwave Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring plus local methods such as mada, Bancontact and iDEAL. | Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Card payouts and bank payouts to recipients in supported countries. | Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default. |
| Multi-currency account | Not offered | Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account. |
| Business cards | Card issuing for businesses and platforms. | Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated. |
| Stablecoins | Stablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants. | Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Checkout.com does not publish rates. Pricing is tailored per business, either fully flat-rate (set by business profile and risk category) or interchange++. It states no setup or account maintenance fees, and free processing for registered charities. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | Card pricing model (all): Not published. Tailored per business; flat-rate (priced on business profile and risk category) or interchange++Setup / account fees (all): No setup fees and no account maintenance feesCharities (countries where Checkout.com operates): Free payment processing for registered charities | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedVirtual currencies, including cryptocurrency exchanges, are restricted (extra due diligence). The Terms also require pre-approval. NFTs are restricted. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney transmitters, stored-value cards, securities/forex, escrow, debt and loan businesses, digital wallets and payment facilitators are restricted. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedGambling, gaming, games of skill and sweepstakes are restricted where operator and customers are located only in jurisdictions where they are legal. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | Not allowedPornography and other obscene materials are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedDating services are restricted (pre-approval). | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedWeapons, firearms and ammunition are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | Not allowedCannabis and marijuana-related businesses are on the Declined Lines of Business Policy. CBD products need pre-approval (listed with highly regulated nutraceuticals), so CBD is restricted rather than prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | RestrictedConflict resolved: for direct merchants, nutraceuticals and food supplements are restricted on the eligibility page and need pre-approval under the Terms. | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedInternet pharmacies (including referral sites) and prescription drugs/devices are restricted. No telemedicine-specific rule found. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedDelivery of future services (airlines, travel agencies, hotel bookings, event ticketing) needs pre-approval under the Terms. The eligibility page names travel and airlines only as credit-risk examples. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | RestrictedProducts or services sold through negative option marketing are restricted for direct merchants (pre-approval). The Regulated Platform AUP declines them for platform merchants. | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesIntegrated Platforms onboards sub-entities with full or light checks. | PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit payments between the platform and sub-entities. | YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount. |
| Embeddable UI | Not confirmedPayment UI components exist (Flow, Frames); embeddable onboarding components not confirmed. | PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to sub-entities’ bank accounts or debit cards (card payouts on demand through Visa Direct and Mastercard). | YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlySub-entity currency account balances, used to fund card spend. Not full bank accounts. | PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found. |
| Cards for your users | YesPlatforms can issue cards to the businesses or individuals under each sub-entity.Announced, not yet live: Card issuing in the UAE | YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees. |
| Financing for your users | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | PartlyCardholders under a sub-entity can be individuals, and consumer vs commercial is a card program setting. | PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBalances belong to sub-entities, not consumers. | PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts). |
| Consumer cards | PartlyConsumer card products can be configured for platform programs. | PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials. | PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | PartlyStablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants. | YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials. | YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Regulatory risk in United States | Low risk | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesOfficial MCP server in beta: payment status, refunds, voids, payment links and the docs, for tools like Claude Code and Cursor. | Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesSupports the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Google’s AP2 and Mastercard Agent Pay. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | NoSales-led onboarding. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | NoPricing is negotiated. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and sandbox. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Awaiting approvalIts own US acquiring bankExpected by the end of 2026 · Includes United States Awaiting approvalCard issuing in the UAENo date given Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 37 of 170 | 12 of 170 |
| Designed for | Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia. | Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants. | Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use. |
Common questions
Is Checkout.com or Flutterwave available in more countries?
Flutterwave. Of the 170 countries we track, Checkout.com onboards businesses in 37 (and 1 more with limits) and Flutterwave in 12 (and 153 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 38. Only Flutterwave: Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, Israel, Turkey, Egypt, Nigeria, Kenya and 115 more.
What do Checkout.com and Flutterwave offer?
Accept payments: Checkout.com yes, Flutterwave yes. Pay people abroad: Checkout.com yes, Flutterwave yes. Multi-currency account: Checkout.com no, Flutterwave yes. Business cards: Checkout.com yes, Flutterwave yes. Stablecoins: Checkout.com yes, Flutterwave yes. Yield on idle cash: Checkout.com no, Flutterwave no.
How do Checkout.com and Flutterwave differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Sub-accounts for your users: Checkout.com yes, Flutterwave partly. Embeddable UI: Checkout.com not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Consumer wallets or accounts: Checkout.com no, Flutterwave partly. Accept stablecoins: Checkout.com not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Hold stablecoin balances: Checkout.com partly, Flutterwave yes. Pay out in stablecoins: Checkout.com not confirmed, Flutterwave yes. Issue your own stablecoin: Checkout.com no, Flutterwave not confirmed. Official MCP server: Checkout.com yes, Flutterwave not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: Checkout.com yes, Flutterwave not confirmed.
Who is Checkout.com designed for?
Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants.
Who is Flutterwave designed for?
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. Limitations: Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.
Related comparisons