Compare
Airwallex vs Flutterwave
Only Flutterwave · 113
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Airwallex
AvailableFlutterwave
AvailableAccept payments
Airwallex
Online payments with cards and 160+ local methods, settled into multiple currencies.Flutterwave
Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies.Pay people abroad
Airwallex
Transfers to 150+ countries, often over local bank rails.Flutterwave
Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default.Multi-currency account
Airwallex
Global Accounts give you local bank details in 20+ currencies, so you get paid like a local business.Flutterwave
Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account.Business cards
Airwallex
Multi-currency corporate cards with spend controls.Flutterwave
Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated.Stablecoins
Airwallex
Not offeredFlutterwave
Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon.Yield on idle cash
Airwallex
Airwallex Yield invests idle balances in AAA-rated J.P. Morgan money market funds. Airwallex says it is not a savings or deposit product, and returns are variable.Flutterwave
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Airwallex
Low risk, not insuredMoney market fundFlutterwave
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Airwallex
Not a deposit and not insured. The fund holds short-term government debt and aims to keep its value stable, but that is not guaranteed. Broker protection (SIPC in the US) covers the broker failing, not investment losses.Flutterwave
–Does the rate change?
Airwallex
Floats daily with central bank rates, so it falls when rates are cut.Last seen: About 3.6–3.7% on USD in 2026, depending on planFlutterwave
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Airwallex
Airwallex publishes plan and transaction prices per country. US: domestic cards 2.80% + $0.30, international cards 4.30% + $0.30, FX 0.5% above interbank for major currencies (1% others), SWIFT $15-$25. UK: 1.30% + £0.20 UK cards, 2.40% + £0.20 EEA cards, 3.15% + £0.20 international. Platform/embedded use is custom-priced.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPublished prices
Airwallex
Domestic cards (US): 2.80% + $0.30International cards (US): 4.30% + $0.30FX conversion (US): 0.5% above interbank rates for major currencies; 1% for all other currenciesTransfers (US): Domestic USD and CAD transfers free; SWIFT $15-$25 per transferPlans (US): Explore $0 per user/month; Grow $12 per user/month plus a platform fee based on team size; Accelerate customPlatform API / embedded finance (all): Custom pricing (contact sales)Flutterwave
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Airwallex
Not statedFlutterwave
Not yet researchedCrypto
Airwallex
RestrictedCryptocurrencies, crypto-assets, NFTs, ICOs, stablecoins and tokenised real-world assets need Airwallex's approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
Airwallex
RestrictedDeposit-taking, lending, BNPL, money transfer and currency exchange, payment instruments and securities/FX trading need approval. Payday and predatory lending and unlicensed regulated financial services are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedGambling
Airwallex
RestrictedCasinos, lotteries and online gambling need approval. Gambling that is illegal or offered without permits or licences is prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedAdult content
Airwallex
Not allowedAdult content and related services (pornography, escort and prostitution services, advertising of sexual services) are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedDating
Airwallex
RestrictedMatchmaking or dating services need approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
Airwallex
Not allowedWeapons manufacturing, sales and supplies, including firearms and their components, are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
Airwallex
RestrictedMarijuana, THC and CBD products need Airwallex's approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedSupplements
Airwallex
RestrictedPharmaceuticals and nutraceuticals (including sexual enhancement and weight-loss products) need approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
Airwallex
RestrictedPharmaceuticals (including prescription medication) and regulated medical devices and services need approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedTravel
Airwallex
RestrictedTravel-related arrangement services and other delayed-delivery merchants need approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
Airwallex
Not allowedPonzi schemes, pyramid schemes, multi-level marketing and telemarketing are prohibited.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
Airwallex
RestrictedNegative option billing clients need approval.Flutterwave
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Airwallex
YesConnected accounts for businesses and individuals, through hosted onboarding, embedded components or the native API.Flutterwave
PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds.Split payments and platform fees
Airwallex
YesCollect payments on behalf of connected accounts and take a platform fee.Flutterwave
YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount.Embeddable UI
Airwallex
YesEmbedded components for onboarding and account features.Flutterwave
PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found.Pay out to your users
Airwallex
YesTransfers to 150+ countries, often over local rails.Flutterwave
YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Airwallex
YesEach connected account can get multi-currency wallets and local account numbers.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found.Cards for your users
Airwallex
YesIssuing APIs for connected accounts’ cardholders, with secure card-display iframes.Flutterwave
YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees.Financing for your users
Airwallex
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Flutterwave
Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Airwallex
PartlyPlatforms can create connected accounts for individuals. Card issuing and third-party payouts need full KYC.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented.Consumer wallets or accounts
Airwallex
PartlyWallets on connected accounts can belong to individuals.Flutterwave
PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts).Consumer cards
Airwallex
Not confirmedPublic materials describe business card programs.Flutterwave
PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Airwallex
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found.Hold stablecoin balances
Airwallex
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances.Pay out in stablecoins
Airwallex
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported.Issue your own stablecoin
Airwallex
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Regulatory risk in United States
Airwallex
No stablecoin productsFlutterwave
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Airwallex
YesAgentOS includes production, sandbox and docs MCP servers plus a CLI. Every money-out action needs a human to confirm it.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official.Checkout for AI agents
Airwallex
Not confirmedNo agent checkout protocol support confirmed.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Cards for AI agents
Airwallex
PartlyAgentOS includes a card provisioning workflow, with human confirmation before money moves.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Airwallex
YesSign up online; platform products are sales-assisted.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Airwallex
YesPricing pages by country.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Airwallex
YesPublic API and sandbox.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
Airwallex
Flutterwave
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
Airwallex
52 of 170Flutterwave
12 of 170Designed for
Airwallex
Businesses that collect in one currency and spend in another, without opening bank accounts abroad.Flutterwave
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account.Limitations
Airwallex
Which products you get depends on the country your business is registered in.Flutterwave
Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.| Airwallex Global account | Flutterwave Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Online payments with cards and 160+ local methods, settled into multiple currencies. | Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Transfers to 150+ countries, often over local bank rails. | Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default. |
| Multi-currency account | Global Accounts give you local bank details in 20+ currencies, so you get paid like a local business. | Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account. |
| Business cards | Multi-currency corporate cards with spend controls. | Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. |
| Yield on idle cash | Airwallex Yield invests idle balances in AAA-rated J.P. Morgan money market funds. Airwallex says it is not a savings or deposit product, and returns are variable. | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | Low risk, not insuredMoney market fund | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | Not a deposit and not insured. The fund holds short-term government debt and aims to keep its value stable, but that is not guaranteed. Broker protection (SIPC in the US) covers the broker failing, not investment losses. | – |
| Does the rate change? | Floats daily with central bank rates, so it falls when rates are cut.Last seen: About 3.6–3.7% on USD in 2026, depending on plan | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Airwallex publishes plan and transaction prices per country. US: domestic cards 2.80% + $0.30, international cards 4.30% + $0.30, FX 0.5% above interbank for major currencies (1% others), SWIFT $15-$25. UK: 1.30% + £0.20 UK cards, 2.40% + £0.20 EEA cards, 3.15% + £0.20 international. Platform/embedded use is custom-priced. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | Domestic cards (US): 2.80% + $0.30International cards (US): 4.30% + $0.30FX conversion (US): 0.5% above interbank rates for major currencies; 1% for all other currenciesTransfers (US): Domestic USD and CAD transfers free; SWIFT $15-$25 per transferPlans (US): Explore $0 per user/month; Grow $12 per user/month plus a platform fee based on team size; Accelerate customPlatform API / embedded finance (all): Custom pricing (contact sales) | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrencies, crypto-assets, NFTs, ICOs, stablecoins and tokenised real-world assets need Airwallex's approval. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedDeposit-taking, lending, BNPL, money transfer and currency exchange, payment instruments and securities/FX trading need approval. Payday and predatory lending and unlicensed regulated financial services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedCasinos, lotteries and online gambling need approval. Gambling that is illegal or offered without permits or licences is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | Not allowedAdult content and related services (pornography, escort and prostitution services, advertising of sexual services) are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedMatchmaking or dating services need approval. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedWeapons manufacturing, sales and supplies, including firearms and their components, are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedMarijuana, THC and CBD products need Airwallex's approval. | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | RestrictedPharmaceuticals and nutraceuticals (including sexual enhancement and weight-loss products) need approval. | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals (including prescription medication) and regulated medical devices and services need approval. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel-related arrangement services and other delayed-delivery merchants need approval. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | Not allowedPonzi schemes, pyramid schemes, multi-level marketing and telemarketing are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | RestrictedNegative option billing clients need approval. | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesConnected accounts for businesses and individuals, through hosted onboarding, embedded components or the native API. | PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesCollect payments on behalf of connected accounts and take a platform fee. | YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount. |
| Embeddable UI | YesEmbedded components for onboarding and account features. | PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found. |
| Pay out to your users | YesTransfers to 150+ countries, often over local rails. | YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | YesEach connected account can get multi-currency wallets and local account numbers. | PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found. |
| Cards for your users | YesIssuing APIs for connected accounts’ cardholders, with secure card-display iframes. | YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees. |
| Financing for your users | Not confirmedNot confirmed. | Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | PartlyPlatforms can create connected accounts for individuals. Card issuing and third-party payouts need full KYC. | PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | PartlyWallets on connected accounts can belong to individuals. | PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts). |
| Consumer cards | Not confirmedPublic materials describe business card programs. | PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesAgentOS includes production, sandbox and docs MCP servers plus a CLI. Every money-out action needs a human to confirm it. | Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official. |
| Checkout for AI agents | Not confirmedNo agent checkout protocol support confirmed. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Cards for AI agents | PartlyAgentOS includes a card provisioning workflow, with human confirmation before money moves. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | YesSign up online; platform products are sales-assisted. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | YesPricing pages by country. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and sandbox. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | AnnouncedAccounts and acquiring for Korean businessesExpected by the end of 2026 AnnouncedLater than expectedFull local service for Brazilian businessesExpected by the end of 2025, not launched yet Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 52 of 170 | 12 of 170 |
| Designed for | Businesses that collect in one currency and spend in another, without opening bank accounts abroad. | Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. |
| Limitations | Which products you get depends on the country your business is registered in. | Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use. |
Common questions
Is Airwallex or Flutterwave available in more countries?
Flutterwave. Of the 170 countries we track, Airwallex onboards businesses in 52 and Flutterwave in 12 (and 153 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 52. Only Flutterwave: Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Egypt, Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa, Ghana and 101 more.
What do Airwallex and Flutterwave offer?
Accept payments: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave yes. Pay people abroad: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave yes. Multi-currency account: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave yes. Business cards: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave yes. Stablecoins: Airwallex no, Flutterwave yes. Yield on idle cash: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave no.
How do Airwallex and Flutterwave differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Sub-accounts for your users: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave partly. Embeddable UI: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave partly. Accounts that hold money: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave partly. Consumer cards: Airwallex not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Accept stablecoins: Airwallex no, Flutterwave partly. Hold stablecoin balances: Airwallex no, Flutterwave yes. Pay out in stablecoins: Airwallex no, Flutterwave yes. Issue your own stablecoin: Airwallex no, Flutterwave not confirmed. Official MCP server: Airwallex yes, Flutterwave not confirmed. Cards for AI agents: Airwallex partly, Flutterwave not confirmed.
Who is Airwallex designed for?
Businesses that collect in one currency and spend in another, without opening bank accounts abroad. Limitations: Which products you get depends on the country your business is registered in.
Who is Flutterwave designed for?
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. Limitations: Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.
Related comparisons