Compare
Mercado Pago vs Flutterwave
Only Flutterwave · 158
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Mercado Pago
Not availableFlutterwave
AvailableAccept payments
Mercado Pago
Online payments through Checkout Pro (hosted by Mercado Pago), Checkout API / Checkout Transparente (on your site), Checkout Bricks (embeddable components), payment links and subscriptions. Methods include cards, local bank transfers, cash vouchers, Mercado Pago account balance and card-free installments, varying by country.Not for businesses in United States.Flutterwave
Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies.Pay people abroad
Mercado Pago
Not offeredFlutterwave
Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default.Multi-currency account
Mercado Pago
A free Mercado Pago business account holds sales proceeds in local currency. Confirmed on the Brazil and Mexico seller pages only.Not for businesses in United States.Flutterwave
Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account.Business cards
Mercado Pago
In Mexico, sellers get a free card to spend the money from their sales.Not for businesses in United States.Flutterwave
Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated.Stablecoins
Mercado Pago
Not offeredFlutterwave
Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon.Yield on idle cash
Mercado Pago
Not offeredFlutterwave
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Mercado Pago
No yield offeredFlutterwave
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Mercado Pago
–Flutterwave
–Does the rate change?
Mercado Pago
–Flutterwave
–Platform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Mercado Pago
PartlyPlatforms connect sellers' own Mercado Pago accounts through OAuth and act on their behalf. Creating accounts for sellers through an API was not found.Flutterwave
PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds.Split payments and platform fees
Mercado Pago
YesMarketplace integrations split each payment between seller and marketplace; the platform sets its commission with marketplace_fee. Confirmed on the Brazil docs.Flutterwave
YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount.Embeddable UI
Mercado Pago
YesCheckout Bricks are pre-built, customisable payment components (Payment, Card Payment, Wallet, Status Screen) that run on the seller's site.Flutterwave
PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found.Pay out to your users
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago runs its own consumer and seller accounts, but an API for platforms to open accounts for their users was not found.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found.Cards for your users
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees.Financing for your users
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago offers credit to its own sellers, but no lending product for platforms was found.Flutterwave
Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented.Consumer wallets or accounts
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts).Consumer cards
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found.Hold stablecoin balances
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances.Pay out in stablecoins
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported.Issue your own stablecoin
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Regulatory risk in United States
Mercado Pago
No stablecoin productsFlutterwave
Low riskAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Mercado Pago
YesOfficial remote MCP server. Tools cover searching the docs, managing applications (OAuth only), configuring webhooks, creating test users and measuring integration quality. It is integration tooling, not payment execution.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official.Checkout for AI agents
Mercado Pago
PartlyCommerce Agents Checkout (open-source Python library, beta 0.1.0; post dated 24 Sep 2026) hands an AI agent's flow off to Checkout Pro without giving the model control of prices, credentials or payment creation. The buyer still pays in Checkout Pro; it is not an ACP/AP2 implementation.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Cards for AI agents
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked).Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Flutterwave
Not confirmedNot researched yet.In short
Countries onboarded
Mercado Pago
7 of 170Flutterwave
12 of 170Designed for
Mercado Pago
Sellers in one of its seven Latin American countries who sell to local customers and want Pix, OXXO, cash vouchers, card-free installments and Mercado Pago wallet payments.Flutterwave
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account.Limitations
Mercado Pago
Each account works in one country and currency. Businesses outside the seven countries cannot sign up themselves; Cross Border (USD withdrawal abroad) has to be set up by Mercado Pago's team.Flutterwave
Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.| Mercado Pago Regional processor | Flutterwave Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Not available | Available |
| Accept payments | Online payments through Checkout Pro (hosted by Mercado Pago), Checkout API / Checkout Transparente (on your site), Checkout Bricks (embeddable components), payment links and subscriptions. Methods include cards, local bank transfers, cash vouchers, Mercado Pago account balance and card-free installments, varying by country.Not for businesses in United States. | Online payment acceptance through checkout, payment links, invoices, a store builder and POS. Local methods include cards, bank transfer, bank account debit, USSD, mobile money and M-Pesa, depending on currency. Flutterwave says it collects in 30+ currencies. |
| Pay people abroad | Not offered | Transfers from your balance to bank accounts, mobile money or other Flutterwave accounts, singly or in bulk, plus cash pickup in Egypt. Bank transfer guides cover Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and international USD, EUR and GBP. Egypt bank transfers are off by default. |
| Multi-currency account | A free Mercado Pago business account holds sales proceeds in local currency. Confirmed on the Brazil and Mexico seller pages only.Not for businesses in United States. | Virtual account numbers for receiving NGN and GHS bank transfers (by default for merchants in Nigeria and Ghana; others must ask). NGN-only wallets (payout subaccounts) can be created for your users. Flutterwave also holds a Nigerian microfinance banking licence and offers a Flutterwave MFB business account. |
| Business cards | In Mexico, sellers get a free card to spend the money from their sales.Not for businesses in United States. | Flutterwave Issuing: virtual dollar and naira cards via dashboard or API, and physical naira cards for customers or employees (contact sales). Country eligibility is not stated. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Stablecoin wallets and transfers: fund a USDC/USDT/RLUSD wallet from NGN, USD, GBP, EUR or GHS balances and send to wallet addresses on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | PartlyPlatforms connect sellers' own Mercado Pago accounts through OAuth and act on their behalf. Creating accounts for sellers through an API was not found. | PartlySubaccounts are bank accounts that receive split payments. Flutterwave says the platform, not Flutterwave, is responsible for vetting merchants it adds. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesMarketplace integrations split each payment between seller and marketplace; the platform sets its commission with marketplace_fee. Confirmed on the Brazil docs. | YesSplit an incoming payment and a commission between one or more subaccounts, by percentage or flat amount. |
| Embeddable UI | YesCheckout Bricks are pre-built, customisable payment components (Payment, Card Payment, Wallet, Status Screen) that run on the seller's site. | PartlyPrebuilt checkout options (Inline, Standard, HTML checkout), payment links and a store builder. No white-label onboarding or payout components were found. |
| Pay out to your users | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | YesBank, mobile money, wallet-to-wallet and cash-pickup transfers across many African countries, plus USD, EUR and GBP; Flutterwave cites 40+ payout countries. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago runs its own consumer and seller accounts, but an API for platforms to open accounts for their users was not found. | PartlyPayout subaccounts create NGN-only wallets with a dedicated virtual account number for your end users. The FaaS page also advertises branded deposit accounts via API. Non-NGN user accounts were not found. |
| Cards for your users | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | YesVirtual dollar and naira cards via API, and physical naira cards for your customers or employees. |
| Financing for your users | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago offers credit to its own sellers, but no lending product for platforms was found. | Not confirmedFlutterwave Capital lends to Flutterwave's own merchants in Nigeria, through partner banks. No product for platforms to offer loans to their users was found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | PartlyPayout-subaccount wallets can be created for consumers, and the FaaS page advertises KYC and consumer deposit accounts. Consumer onboarding requirements are not documented. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | PartlyNGN-only wallets held on behalf of your consumers (payout subaccounts). |
| Consumer cards | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | PartlyThe FaaS page advertises branded virtual and physical consumer debit cards. No developer documentation of a consumer card programme was fetched. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | PartlyFlutterwave's stablecoin docs mention transactions to and from wallet addresses and stablecoin-to-fiat conversion, but document only outbound transfers. No inbound stablecoin collection flow was found. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | YesA stablecoin wallet balance funded by converting from fiat balances. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | YesSend USDC, USDT or RLUSD to external wallets on Solana, Ethereum, Base or Polygon. Cross-stablecoin transfers (USDC to a USDT address) are not supported. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | Low risk |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesOfficial remote MCP server. Tools cover searching the docs, managing applications (OAuth only), configuring webhooks, creating test users and measuring integration quality. It is integration tooling, not payment execution. | Not confirmedNo MCP server is published on Flutterwave's own pages. Community servers exist on GitHub but are not official. |
| Checkout for AI agents | PartlyCommerce Agents Checkout (open-source Python library, beta 0.1.0; post dated 24 Sep 2026) hands an AI agent's flow off to Checkout Pro without giving the model control of prices, credentials or payment creation. The buyer still pays in Checkout Pro; it is not an ACP/AP2 implementation. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials (provider's own pages checked). |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | Not confirmedNot researched yet. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | Not confirmedNot researched yet. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | Not confirmedNot researched yet. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 7 of 170 | 12 of 170 |
| Designed for | Sellers in one of its seven Latin American countries who sell to local customers and want Pix, OXXO, cash vouchers, card-free installments and Mercado Pago wallet payments. | Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. |
| Limitations | Each account works in one country and currency. Businesses outside the seven countries cannot sign up themselves; Cross Border (USD withdrawal abroad) has to be set up by Mercado Pago's team. | Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use. |
Common questions
Is Mercado Pago or Flutterwave available in more countries?
Flutterwave. Of the 170 countries we track, Mercado Pago onboards businesses in 7 and Flutterwave in 12 (and 153 more with limits). Both serve businesses in 7. Only Flutterwave: United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany, France, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Austria, Spain, Portugal and 146 more.
What do Mercado Pago and Flutterwave offer?
Accept payments: Mercado Pago yes, Flutterwave yes. Pay people abroad: Mercado Pago no, Flutterwave yes. Multi-currency account: Mercado Pago yes, Flutterwave yes. Business cards: Mercado Pago yes, Flutterwave yes. Stablecoins: Mercado Pago no, Flutterwave yes. Yield on idle cash: Mercado Pago no, Flutterwave no.
How do Mercado Pago and Flutterwave differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Embeddable UI: Mercado Pago yes, Flutterwave partly. Pay out to your users: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave yes. Accounts that hold money: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Cards for your users: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave yes. End users can be individuals: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Consumer wallets or accounts: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Consumer cards: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Accept stablecoins: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave partly. Hold stablecoin balances: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave yes. Pay out in stablecoins: Mercado Pago not confirmed, Flutterwave yes. Official MCP server: Mercado Pago yes, Flutterwave not confirmed. Checkout for AI agents: Mercado Pago partly, Flutterwave not confirmed.
Who is Mercado Pago designed for?
Sellers in one of its seven Latin American countries who sell to local customers and want Pix, OXXO, cash vouchers, card-free installments and Mercado Pago wallet payments. Limitations: Each account works in one country and currency. Businesses outside the seven countries cannot sign up themselves; Cross Border (USD withdrawal abroad) has to be set up by Mercado Pago's team.
Who is Flutterwave designed for?
Businesses that need local collection and payouts across many African countries, plus US, UK and EU collection, from one account. Limitations: Products differ by country and currency, and Flutterwave does not say what businesses outside its 12 named countries can use.
Related comparisons