Compare
Adyen vs Mercado Pago
Only Adyen · 41
Only Mercado Pago · 5
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Adyen
AvailableMercado Pago
Not availableAccept payments
Adyen
Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person.Mercado Pago
Online payments through Checkout Pro (hosted by Mercado Pago), Checkout API / Checkout Transparente (on your site), Checkout Bricks (embeddable components), payment links and subscriptions. Methods include cards, local bank transfers, cash vouchers, Mercado Pago account balance and card-free installments, varying by country.Not for businesses in United States.Pay people abroad
Adyen
Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms.Mercado Pago
Not offeredMulti-currency account
Adyen
Business accounts for platform users in selected markets.Mercado Pago
A free Mercado Pago business account holds sales proceeds in local currency. Confirmed on the Brazil and Mexico seller pages only.Not for businesses in United States.Business cards
Adyen
Card issuing for platforms and businesses.Mercado Pago
In Mexico, sellers get a free card to spend the money from their sales.Not for businesses in United States.Stablecoins
Adyen
Not offeredMercado Pago
Not offeredYield on idle cash
Adyen
Not offeredMercado Pago
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Adyen
No yield offeredMercado Pago
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Adyen
–Mercado Pago
–Does the rate change?
Adyen
–Mercado Pago
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Adyen
Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedPublished prices
Adyen
Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly feesMercado Pago
–What you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Adyen
Not statedMercado Pago
Not yet researchedCrypto
Adyen
RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedLending and financial services
Adyen
RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedGambling
Adyen
RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedAdult content
Adyen
RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedDating
Adyen
RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedFirearms and weapons
Adyen
Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedCannabis and CBD
Adyen
RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedSupplements
Adyen
RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms).Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedPharmacy and telemedicine
Adyen
RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedTravel
Adyen
RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedMulti-level marketing
Adyen
Not statedMercado Pago
Not yet researchedFree-trial subscriptions
Adyen
Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed.Mercado Pago
Not yet researchedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Adyen
YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC.Mercado Pago
PartlyPlatforms connect sellers' own Mercado Pago accounts through OAuth and act on their behalf. Creating accounts for sellers through an API was not found.Split payments and platform fees
Adyen
YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission.Mercado Pago
YesMarketplace integrations split each payment between seller and marketplace; the platform sets its commission with marketplace_fee. Confirmed on the Brazil docs.Embeddable UI
Adyen
YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users.Mercado Pago
YesCheckout Bricks are pre-built, customisable payment components (Payment, Card Payment, Wallet, Status Screen) that run on the seller's site.Pay out to your users
Adyen
YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Adyen
PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago runs its own consumer and seller accounts, but an API for platforms to open accounts for their users was not found.Cards for your users
Adyen
YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Financing for your users
Adyen
YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago offers credit to its own sellers, but no lending product for platforms was found.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Adyen
NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Consumer wallets or accounts
Adyen
NoBusiness accounts only.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Consumer cards
Adyen
NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Hold stablecoin balances
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Pay out in stablecoins
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Issue your own stablecoin
Adyen
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Regulatory risk in United States
Adyen
No stablecoin productsMercado Pago
No stablecoin productsAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Adyen
Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones.Mercado Pago
YesOfficial remote MCP server. Tools cover searching the docs, managing applications (OAuth only), configuring webhooks, creating test users and measuring integration quality. It is integration tooling, not payment execution.Checkout for AI agents
Adyen
YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol.Mercado Pago
PartlyCommerce Agents Checkout (open-source Python library, beta 0.1.0; post dated 24 Sep 2026) hands an AI agent's flow off to Checkout Pro without giving the model control of prices, credentials or payment creation. The buyer still pays in Checkout Pro; it is not an ACP/AP2 implementation.Cards for AI agents
Adyen
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Adyen
PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Published pricing
Adyen
PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot researched yet.Public API and sandbox
Adyen
YesPublic API and test environment.Mercado Pago
Not confirmedNot researched yet.In short
Countries onboarded
Adyen
43 of 170Mercado Pago
7 of 170Designed for
Adyen
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions.Mercado Pago
Sellers in one of its seven Latin American countries who sell to local customers and want Pix, OXXO, cash vouchers, card-free installments and Mercado Pago wallet payments.Limitations
Adyen
Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.Mercado Pago
Each account works in one country and currency. Businesses outside the seven countries cannot sign up themselves; Cross Border (USD withdrawal abroad) has to be set up by Mercado Pago's team.| Adyen Payment processor | Mercado Pago Regional processor | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Not available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring with local payment methods across most major markets, online and in person. | Online payments through Checkout Pro (hosted by Mercado Pago), Checkout API / Checkout Transparente (on your site), Checkout Bricks (embeddable components), payment links and subscriptions. Methods include cards, local bank transfers, cash vouchers, Mercado Pago account balance and card-free installments, varying by country.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Pay people abroad | Pay out to sellers and users through Adyen for Platforms. | Not offered |
| Multi-currency account | Business accounts for platform users in selected markets. | A free Mercado Pago business account holds sales proceeds in local currency. Confirmed on the Brazil and Mexico seller pages only.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Business cards | Card issuing for platforms and businesses. | In Mexico, sellers get a free card to spend the money from their sales.Not for businesses in United States. |
| Stablecoins | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Adyen charges a fixed processing fee per transaction ($0.13 / €0.11 / £0.11, by pricing region) plus a payment-method fee. For Visa and Mastercard the method fee is shown as Interchange+ + 0.60%, so total card cost depends on interchange and scheme fees. No setup or monthly fees. | Not yet researched |
| Published prices | Pricing structure (all): Fixed processing fee + a fee set by the payment methodProcessing fee (fixed, every transaction) (US / global (USD view)): $0.13 per transaction, plus a payment-method feeVisa / Mastercard payment-method fee (global): Interchange+ + 0.60% (plus the fixed processing fee)Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (EU (Europe pricing view, not country-specific)): €0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as €0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Processing fee (fixed, every transaction) (UK (GBP pricing view)): £0.11 per transaction, plus a payment-method fee; Visa/Mastercard shown as £0.11 + Interchange+ + 0.60%Monthly / setup fees (all): No setup or monthly fees | – |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Crypto | RestrictedCryptocurrency exchange is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platform/partner businesses. Virtual currencies are listed under restricted money services. | Not yet researched |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney services, FX, money transfer, BNPL, insurance and brokerage are restricted for merchants (mostly prohibited for platforms). Credit repair, binary options, payday/unsecured loans and unlicensed financial advisers are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Gambling | RestrictedLegal gambling and games of skill with prizes are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Illegal gambling and any US-based gambling services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Adult content | RestrictedAdult goods (excluding fetish products) are restricted. Fetish products, sexual content and sexual entertainment are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Dating | RestrictedCasual dating is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. Mail-order spouse and international matchmaking services are prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedTrade of weapons, ammunition, military arms, explosive devices and firearm parts is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Cannabis and CBD | RestrictedCannabis is restricted (documents needed) only in Canada; the line reads 'Cannabis (only in Canada)'. Outside Canada it is not offered as restricted, and drugs and 'other psychoactive products' are prohibited for both merchants and platforms. Treat cannabis outside Canada as not supported. CBD (as a highly regulated nutraceutical) is restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Supplements | RestrictedNutraceuticals and food products are restricted for merchants and platforms (highly regulated ones such as CBD are prohibited for platforms). | Not yet researched |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedPharmaceuticals, prescription medicine and medical devices are restricted for merchants and platforms. IV therapy is prohibited. | Not yet researched |
| Travel | RestrictedTravel agents, tour operators, cruise lines and timeshares are restricted. Airlines and travel-related arrangement services are restricted for merchants and prohibited for platforms. | Not yet researched |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not yet researched |
| Free-trial subscriptions | Not allowedDeceptive marketing, including poorly disclosed negative options and cancellation or refund avoidance, is prohibited. Clearly disclosed subscriptions are not addressed. | Not yet researched |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesAdyen for Platforms: account holders and legal entities, with hosted or API onboarding and Adyen doing KYC. | PartlyPlatforms connect sellers' own Mercado Pago accounts through OAuth and act on their behalf. Creating accounts for sellers through an API was not found. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit each payment between users and take platform commission. | YesMarketplace integrations split each payment between seller and marketplace; the platform sets its commission with marketplace_fee. Confirmed on the Brazil docs. |
| Embeddable UI | YesHosted onboarding and embeddable components for users. | YesCheckout Bricks are pre-built, customisable payment components (Payment, Card Payment, Wallet, Status Screen) that run on the seller's site. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to users’ bank accounts, or into Adyen business accounts. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlyBusiness accounts with account numbers in BE, DE, ES, FR, GB, NL and the US. Adyen says the feature is still in development. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago runs its own consumer and seller accounts, but an API for platforms to open accounts for their users was not found. |
| Cards for your users | YesVirtual and physical Visa and Mastercard cards for platform users in Europe, the UK and the US. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Financing for your users | YesCapital for platform users in Europe, the UK, Australia and the US. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. Mercado Pago offers credit to its own sellers, but no lending product for platforms was found. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | NoAccount holders are organisations and sole proprietors, not consumers. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBusiness accounts only. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Consumer cards | NoCards serve platforms and their business users, for example payout cards for marketplace sellers. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | No stablecoin products | No stablecoin products |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | Not confirmedNo official MCP server found; only community-built ones. | YesOfficial remote MCP server. Tools cover searching the docs, managing applications (OAuth only), configuring webhooks, creating test users and measuring integration quality. It is integration tooling, not payment execution. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesWorks as the payment provider behind Agentic Commerce Protocol checkouts, with gaps for CVC re-entry and network tokens. Also backs Google’s AP2 and the Universal Commerce Protocol. | PartlyCommerce Agents Checkout (open-source Python library, beta 0.1.0; post dated 24 Sep 2026) hands an AI agent's flow off to Checkout Pro without giving the model control of prices, credentials or payment creation. The buyer still pays in Checkout Pro; it is not an ACP/AP2 implementation. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | PartlyMost businesses go through Adyen’s sales team. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Published pricing | PartlyPer-transaction fees by payment method are published; overall terms are negotiated. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and test environment. | Not confirmedNot researched yet. |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 43 of 170 | 7 of 170 |
| Designed for | High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. | Sellers in one of its seven Latin American countries who sell to local customers and want Pix, OXXO, cash vouchers, card-free installments and Mercado Pago wallet payments. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses. | Each account works in one country and currency. Businesses outside the seven countries cannot sign up themselves; Cross Border (USD withdrawal abroad) has to be set up by Mercado Pago's team. |
Common questions
Is Adyen or Mercado Pago available in more countries?
Adyen. Of the 170 countries we track, Adyen onboards businesses in 43 and Mercado Pago in 7. Both serve businesses in 2. Only Adyen: United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany, France, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Austria, Spain, Portugal and 29 more. Only Mercado Pago: Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru and Uruguay.
What do Adyen and Mercado Pago offer?
Accept payments: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago yes. Pay people abroad: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago no. Multi-currency account: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago yes. Business cards: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago yes. Stablecoins: Adyen no, Mercado Pago no. Yield on idle cash: Adyen no, Mercado Pago no.
How do Adyen and Mercado Pago differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Sub-accounts for your users: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago partly. Pay out to your users: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Accounts that hold money: Adyen partly, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Cards for your users: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Financing for your users: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago not confirmed. End users can be individuals: Adyen no, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Consumer wallets or accounts: Adyen no, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Consumer cards: Adyen no, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Accept stablecoins: Adyen no, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Hold stablecoin balances: Adyen no, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Pay out in stablecoins: Adyen no, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Issue your own stablecoin: Adyen no, Mercado Pago not confirmed. Official MCP server: Adyen not confirmed, Mercado Pago yes. Checkout for AI agents: Adyen yes, Mercado Pago partly.
Who is Adyen designed for?
High-volume merchants that want local acquiring and one contract across many regions. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Adyen’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger businesses.
Who is Mercado Pago designed for?
Sellers in one of its seven Latin American countries who sell to local customers and want Pix, OXXO, cash vouchers, card-free installments and Mercado Pago wallet payments. Limitations: Each account works in one country and currency. Businesses outside the seven countries cannot sign up themselves; Cross Border (USD withdrawal abroad) has to be set up by Mercado Pago's team.
Related comparisons