Compare
Checkout.com vs dLocal
Only Checkout.com · 37
Side by side
Pick where your business is registered. Add up to two more providers.
Pick up to 4.
For a business registered in
Onboards businesses in United States
Checkout.com
AvailabledLocal
AvailableAccept payments
Checkout.com
Enterprise acquiring plus local methods such as mada, Bancontact and iDEAL.dLocal
One integration for local methods such as Pix, OXXO, UPI and M-Pesa in 40+ emerging markets.Pay people abroad
Checkout.com
Card payouts and bank payouts to recipients in supported countries.dLocal
Payouts to bank accounts and wallets across emerging markets.Multi-currency account
Checkout.com
Not offereddLocal
Not offeredBusiness cards
Checkout.com
Card issuing for businesses and platforms.dLocal
Not offeredStablecoins
Checkout.com
Stablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants.dLocal
Not offeredYield on idle cash
Checkout.com
Not offereddLocal
Not offeredYield on idle cash
A return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is.
Where the return comes from
Checkout.com
No yield offereddLocal
No yield offeredIs the money protected?
Checkout.com
–dLocal
–Does the rate change?
Checkout.com
–dLocal
–Fees
Published prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead.
How pricing works
Checkout.com
Checkout.com does not publish rates. Pricing is tailored per business, either fully flat-rate (set by business profile and risk category) or interchange++. It states no setup or account maintenance fees, and free processing for registered charities.dLocal
dLocal does not publish pricing. It says it provides tailored commercial proposals and asks businesses to contact its team.Published prices
Checkout.com
Card pricing model (all): Not published. Tailored per business; flat-rate (priced on business profile and risk category) or interchange++Setup / account fees (all): No setup fees and no account maintenance feesCharities (countries where Checkout.com operates): Free payment processing for registered charitiesdLocal
Pricing (all): Not published: tailored commercial proposals on requestWhat you can sell
From each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category.
Software and digital goods
Checkout.com
Not stateddLocal
Not statedCrypto
Checkout.com
RestrictedVirtual currencies, including cryptocurrency exchanges, are restricted (extra due diligence). The Terms also require pre-approval. NFTs are restricted.dLocal
Not statedLending and financial services
Checkout.com
RestrictedMoney transmitters, stored-value cards, securities/forex, escrow, debt and loan businesses, digital wallets and payment facilitators are restricted.dLocal
Not statedGambling
Checkout.com
RestrictedGambling, gaming, games of skill and sweepstakes are restricted where operator and customers are located only in jurisdictions where they are legal.dLocal
Not statedAdult content
Checkout.com
Not allowedPornography and other obscene materials are prohibited.dLocal
Not statedDating
Checkout.com
RestrictedDating services are restricted (pre-approval).dLocal
Not statedFirearms and weapons
Checkout.com
Not allowedWeapons, firearms and ammunition are prohibited.dLocal
Not statedCannabis and CBD
Checkout.com
Not allowedCannabis and marijuana-related businesses are on the Declined Lines of Business Policy. CBD products need pre-approval (listed with highly regulated nutraceuticals), so CBD is restricted rather than prohibited.dLocal
Not statedSupplements
Checkout.com
RestrictedConflict resolved: for direct merchants, nutraceuticals and food supplements are restricted on the eligibility page and need pre-approval under the Terms.dLocal
Not statedPharmacy and telemedicine
Checkout.com
RestrictedInternet pharmacies (including referral sites) and prescription drugs/devices are restricted. No telemedicine-specific rule found.dLocal
Not statedTravel
Checkout.com
RestrictedDelivery of future services (airlines, travel agencies, hotel bookings, event ticketing) needs pre-approval under the Terms. The eligibility page names travel and airlines only as credit-risk examples.dLocal
Not statedMulti-level marketing
Checkout.com
Not stateddLocal
Not statedFree-trial subscriptions
Checkout.com
RestrictedProducts or services sold through negative option marketing are restricted for direct merchants (pre-approval). The Regulated Platform AUP declines them for platform merchants.dLocal
Not statedPlatform & marketplace
Run payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out.
Sub-accounts for your users
Checkout.com
YesIntegrated Platforms onboards sub-entities with full or light checks.dLocal
YesOnboard sellers, service providers or contractors; dLocal verifies them before paying out.Split payments and platform fees
Checkout.com
YesSplit payments between the platform and sub-entities.dLocal
PartlyMarketplace flows for paying multiple parties.Embeddable UI
Checkout.com
Not confirmedPayment UI components exist (Flow, Frames); embeddable onboarding components not confirmed.dLocal
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Pay out to your users
Checkout.com
YesPayouts to sub-entities’ bank accounts or debit cards (card payouts on demand through Visa Direct and Mastercard).dLocal
YesPayouts to bank accounts and wallets across emerging markets.Embedded finance for your users
Give your users financial products under your brand.
Accounts that hold money
Checkout.com
PartlySub-entity currency account balances, used to fund card spend. Not full bank accounts.dLocal
NoNot offered.Cards for your users
Checkout.com
YesPlatforms can issue cards to the businesses or individuals under each sub-entity.Announced, not yet live: Card issuing in the UAEdLocal
NoNot offered.Financing for your users
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.dLocal
NoNot offered.Consumer apps
Build for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows.
End users can be individuals
Checkout.com
PartlyCardholders under a sub-entity can be individuals, and consumer vs commercial is a card program setting.dLocal
PartlyPayouts to individuals; no accounts held for them.Consumer wallets or accounts
Checkout.com
NoBalances belong to sub-entities, not consumers.dLocal
NoNot offered.Consumer cards
Checkout.com
PartlyConsumer card products can be configured for platform programs.dLocal
NoNot offered.Stablecoins
Dollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail.
Accept stablecoins
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials.dLocal
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Hold stablecoin balances
Checkout.com
PartlyStablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants.dLocal
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Pay out in stablecoins
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials.dLocal
Not confirmedNot confirmed.Issue your own stablecoin
Checkout.com
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.dLocal
NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials.Regulatory risk in United States
Checkout.com
Low riskdLocal
No stablecoin productsAI agents
Build with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay.
Official MCP server
Checkout.com
YesOfficial MCP server in beta: payment status, refunds, voids, payment links and the docs, for tools like Claude Code and Cursor.dLocal
PartlyOfficial MCP server for integration docs inside AI coding tools; payment tools exist only in community servers.Checkout for AI agents
Checkout.com
YesSupports the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Google’s AP2 and Mastercard Agent Pay.dLocal
Not confirmedNo agent checkout protocol support confirmed.Cards for AI agents
Checkout.com
Not confirmedNot found in public materials.dLocal
NoNot offered.Working with them
How easy it is to get started.
Self-serve signup
Checkout.com
NoSales-led onboarding.dLocal
NoEnterprise sales.Published pricing
Checkout.com
NoPricing is negotiated.dLocal
NoNegotiated.Public API and sandbox
Checkout.com
YesPublic API and sandbox.dLocal
YesPublic docs and sandbox.Coming soon
Announced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship.
Announced, not yet live
Checkout.com
dLocal
Nothing announcedIn short
Countries onboarded
Checkout.com
37 of 170dLocal
17 of 170Designed for
Checkout.com
Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia.dLocal
Global companies selling to customers in Latin America, Africa and Asia that cannot set up local entities.Limitations
Checkout.com
Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants.dLocal
Works with enterprise merchants, usually alongside a primary processor.| Checkout.com Payment processor | dLocal Emerging markets | |
|---|---|---|
| Onboards businesses in United States | Available | Available |
| Accept payments | Enterprise acquiring plus local methods such as mada, Bancontact and iDEAL. | One integration for local methods such as Pix, OXXO, UPI and M-Pesa in 40+ emerging markets. |
| Pay people abroad | Card payouts and bank payouts to recipients in supported countries. | Payouts to bank accounts and wallets across emerging markets. |
| Multi-currency account | Not offered | Not offered |
| Business cards | Card issuing for businesses and platforms. | Not offered |
| Stablecoins | Stablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants. | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cash | Not offered | Not offered |
| Yield on idle cashA return on money you are not using. How safe it is depends on where the return comes from, not on how high the rate is. | ||
| Where the return comes from | No yield offered | No yield offered |
| Is the money protected? | – | – |
| Does the rate change? | – | – |
| FeesPublished prices only, with the date we read them. Many providers negotiate prices instead. | ||
| How pricing works | Checkout.com does not publish rates. Pricing is tailored per business, either fully flat-rate (set by business profile and risk category) or interchange++. It states no setup or account maintenance fees, and free processing for registered charities. | dLocal does not publish pricing. It says it provides tailored commercial proposals and asks businesses to contact its team. |
| Published prices | Card pricing model (all): Not published. Tailored per business; flat-rate (priced on business profile and risk category) or interchange++Setup / account fees (all): No setup fees and no account maintenance feesCharities (countries where Checkout.com operates): Free payment processing for registered charities | Pricing (all): Not published: tailored commercial proposals on request |
| What you can sellFrom each provider’s acceptable use policy. “Restricted” means allowed only with approval or conditions, or banned for part of the category. | ||
| Software and digital goods | Not stated | Not stated |
| Crypto | RestrictedVirtual currencies, including cryptocurrency exchanges, are restricted (extra due diligence). The Terms also require pre-approval. NFTs are restricted. | Not stated |
| Lending and financial services | RestrictedMoney transmitters, stored-value cards, securities/forex, escrow, debt and loan businesses, digital wallets and payment facilitators are restricted. | Not stated |
| Gambling | RestrictedGambling, gaming, games of skill and sweepstakes are restricted where operator and customers are located only in jurisdictions where they are legal. | Not stated |
| Adult content | Not allowedPornography and other obscene materials are prohibited. | Not stated |
| Dating | RestrictedDating services are restricted (pre-approval). | Not stated |
| Firearms and weapons | Not allowedWeapons, firearms and ammunition are prohibited. | Not stated |
| Cannabis and CBD | Not allowedCannabis and marijuana-related businesses are on the Declined Lines of Business Policy. CBD products need pre-approval (listed with highly regulated nutraceuticals), so CBD is restricted rather than prohibited. | Not stated |
| Supplements | RestrictedConflict resolved: for direct merchants, nutraceuticals and food supplements are restricted on the eligibility page and need pre-approval under the Terms. | Not stated |
| Pharmacy and telemedicine | RestrictedInternet pharmacies (including referral sites) and prescription drugs/devices are restricted. No telemedicine-specific rule found. | Not stated |
| Travel | RestrictedDelivery of future services (airlines, travel agencies, hotel bookings, event ticketing) needs pre-approval under the Terms. The eligibility page names travel and airlines only as credit-risk examples. | Not stated |
| Multi-level marketing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free-trial subscriptions | RestrictedProducts or services sold through negative option marketing are restricted for direct merchants (pre-approval). The Regulated Platform AUP declines them for platform merchants. | Not stated |
| Platform & marketplaceRun payments for other businesses: sign them up, take a cut, pay them out. | ||
| Sub-accounts for your users | YesIntegrated Platforms onboards sub-entities with full or light checks. | YesOnboard sellers, service providers or contractors; dLocal verifies them before paying out. |
| Split payments and platform fees | YesSplit payments between the platform and sub-entities. | PartlyMarketplace flows for paying multiple parties. |
| Embeddable UI | Not confirmedPayment UI components exist (Flow, Frames); embeddable onboarding components not confirmed. | Not confirmedNot confirmed. |
| Pay out to your users | YesPayouts to sub-entities’ bank accounts or debit cards (card payouts on demand through Visa Direct and Mastercard). | YesPayouts to bank accounts and wallets across emerging markets. |
| Embedded finance for your usersGive your users financial products under your brand. | ||
| Accounts that hold money | PartlySub-entity currency account balances, used to fund card spend. Not full bank accounts. | NoNot offered. |
| Cards for your users | YesPlatforms can issue cards to the businesses or individuals under each sub-entity.Announced, not yet live: Card issuing in the UAE | NoNot offered. |
| Financing for your users | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | NoNot offered. |
| Consumer appsBuild for individuals, not just businesses, the way Bridge allows. | ||
| End users can be individuals | PartlyCardholders under a sub-entity can be individuals, and consumer vs commercial is a card program setting. | PartlyPayouts to individuals; no accounts held for them. |
| Consumer wallets or accounts | NoBalances belong to sub-entities, not consumers. | NoNot offered. |
| Consumer cards | PartlyConsumer card products can be configured for platform programs. | NoNot offered. |
| StablecoinsDollar-backed tokens as a payment and treasury rail. | ||
| Accept stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials. | Not confirmedNot confirmed. |
| Hold stablecoin balances | PartlyStablecoin settlement has been offered to some merchants. | Not confirmedNot confirmed. |
| Pay out in stablecoins | Not confirmedNot confirmed in public materials. | Not confirmedNot confirmed. |
| Issue your own stablecoin | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. | NoNo stablecoin product found in public materials. |
| Regulatory risk in United States | Low risk | No stablecoin products |
| AI agentsBuild with AI tools, and let AI agents shop and pay. | ||
| Official MCP server | YesOfficial MCP server in beta: payment status, refunds, voids, payment links and the docs, for tools like Claude Code and Cursor. | PartlyOfficial MCP server for integration docs inside AI coding tools; payment tools exist only in community servers. |
| Checkout for AI agents | YesSupports the Agentic Commerce Protocol, Google’s AP2 and Mastercard Agent Pay. | Not confirmedNo agent checkout protocol support confirmed. |
| Cards for AI agents | Not confirmedNot found in public materials. | NoNot offered. |
| Working with themHow easy it is to get started. | ||
| Self-serve signup | NoSales-led onboarding. | NoEnterprise sales. |
| Published pricing | NoPricing is negotiated. | NoNegotiated. |
| Public API and sandbox | YesPublic API and sandbox. | YesPublic docs and sandbox. |
| Coming soonAnnounced but not launched. These are plans, not products you can sign up for today: timing often slips, and some never ship. | ||
| Announced, not yet live | Awaiting approvalIts own US acquiring bankExpected by the end of 2026 · Includes United States Awaiting approvalCard issuing in the UAENo date given Details and sources → | Nothing announced |
| In short | ||
| Countries onboarded | 37 of 170 | 17 of 170 |
| Designed for | Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia. | Global companies selling to customers in Latin America, Africa and Asia that cannot set up local entities. |
| Limitations | Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants. | Works with enterprise merchants, usually alongside a primary processor. |
Common questions
Is Checkout.com or dLocal available in more countries?
Checkout.com. Of the 170 countries we track, Checkout.com onboards businesses in 37 (and 1 more with limits) and dLocal in 17. Both serve businesses in 1. Only Checkout.com: United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany, France, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Austria, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Greece and 25 more. Only dLocal: Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Peru, Nigeria, Kenya, Indonesia, Malaysia, Bolivia, Costa Rica and 4 more.
What do Checkout.com and dLocal offer?
Accept payments: Checkout.com yes, dLocal yes. Pay people abroad: Checkout.com yes, dLocal yes. Multi-currency account: Checkout.com no, dLocal no. Business cards: Checkout.com yes, dLocal no. Stablecoins: Checkout.com yes, dLocal no. Yield on idle cash: Checkout.com no, dLocal no.
How do Checkout.com and dLocal differ for platforms and embedded finance?
Split payments and platform fees: Checkout.com yes, dLocal partly. Accounts that hold money: Checkout.com partly, dLocal no. Cards for your users: Checkout.com yes, dLocal no. Financing for your users: Checkout.com not confirmed, dLocal no. Consumer cards: Checkout.com partly, dLocal no. Hold stablecoin balances: Checkout.com partly, dLocal not confirmed. Official MCP server: Checkout.com yes, dLocal partly. Checkout for AI agents: Checkout.com yes, dLocal not confirmed. Cards for AI agents: Checkout.com not confirmed, dLocal no.
Who is Checkout.com designed for?
Enterprises selling into the Gulf and Europe that need local acquiring, including mada in Saudi Arabia. Limitations: Onboarding goes through Checkout.com’s sales team, and the service is aimed at larger merchants.
Who is dLocal designed for?
Global companies selling to customers in Latin America, Africa and Asia that cannot set up local entities. Limitations: Works with enterprise merchants, usually alongside a primary processor.
Related comparisons